Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2014, 02:29 AM   #11
kyuuei
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default

So I'm definitely still having massive issues with Ventrilo.

About a week ago it just caput. I have not changed my computer, my router, my settings, nothing. It has worked flawless and smoothly for literally years on the exact same server with the exact same set ups. Now, when I open vent, it says "Contacting server" in the white box that shows the loading words before I even press connect.. and when I do press connect.. it says nothing for a long time, and then gives me this message:
Unable to connect to the specified server. Contact the server admin and verify that the server is online. You should also verify the hostname and port number with the server admin to assure that you are trying to connect to the correct server.
Or sometimes this message:
Connected to server but unable to authenticate your login name and password. Make sure you entered the correct global server password or the password for your unique login name.

Despite the fact the same passwords and ports and everything are auto-sign-in and haven't changed. I tried manually re-entering them, and nothing.

I haven't found a solution online yet for this issue. People are signed into the server right now, but I can't gain access to it.
I did the following fixes so far:
- Ensured the server checked out on the website again
- Uninstalled Vent and re-installed it off of the site
- Restarted my computer and power cycled my router.
- Checked the Telnet check thing, either way it did not make a difference
- Checked both my router firewall and windows firewall. With either or both or none it doesn't matter.
- Checked that SIP enabled thing someone mentioned in my router settings
- Tried the netsh clear and reset of my computer mentioned in here
- I haven't installed any programs recently such as akamai

I'm not sure what processes would be interrupting it. :/ But I've tried every solution so far I've seen on other threads with no success.
kyuuei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 10:18 AM   #12
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

@kyuuei

can you post a traceroute to the server plz:

start > run
cmd {hit enter}
tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

(example: tracert nobelium.typefrag.com )
----------

try testing by booting into safe mode:

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.
----------

also post a pic of the windows taskmanager/processes tab with 'processes from all users' shown.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.