Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 04:29 PM   #11
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

silent -

what's your bandwidth? [URL="http://www.speedtest.net"]www.speedtest.net[/URL]

[FONT=Verdana]try powering off the modem-router-pc (in that order) for at least 60 seconds each.[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]perform a traceroute to the server when it happens and post the results:

start > run > cmd[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

[/FONT]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 09:41 PM   #12
Blizz_Master
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hey everyone, I've been having this same problem. Idling in channels, I can hear everyone just fine, but the instant I hit my PTT key, I'll skyrocket to 5k+ ping. This has been happening for a while, I'd say close to 5 months now. I performed a trace route on the ventrilo server I'm testing my connection to and it looked like this:

Tracing route to aluminum.typefrag.com [69.12.105.164] over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 30 ms 21 ms 18 ms 68.146.164.1
3 56 ms 16 ms 10 ms rd1no-ge3-0-0-16.cg.shawcable.net [64.59.130.131]
4 13 ms 15 ms 7 ms rc1no-ge5-0-0.cg.shawcable.net [66.163.71.73]
5 8 ms 14 ms 9 ms rc1so-pos15-0.cg.shawcable.net [66.163.77.9]
6 29 ms 22 ms 32 ms rc2wh-pos0-0-2-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.77.197]
7 98 ms 59 ms 57 ms rc2sj-pos6-0-0.cl.shawcable.net [66.163.76.66]
8 71 ms 67 ms 59 ms paix.ge-0-2-0.cr2.sfo1.speakeasy.net [198.32.176.49]
9 60 ms 47 ms 65 ms ge-2-0-0.cr2.sea1.speakeasy.net [69.17.87.17]
10 50 ms 44 ms 47 ms 69.12.105.164

Just some additional info I should probably mention: I am in Canada and I am with Shaw Cable. I do not run Bittorrent or any filesharing program while trying to use Vent.

Also, setting priority class = high did not do much.

Seems more folks than just myself have been having this issue. Hopefully we can figure something out soon.
Blizz_Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 12:16 PM   #13
Madhatter198
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
all -

in vent setup/misc, try setting 'process priority=high'

I've already done this and the problem has continued to happen. I have actually had Shaw technitians at my house twice now because of internet problems this being one of them. I have had the physical line in replaced and I continue to have what appears to be packet loss pertaining to vent. The problems appears to be some kind of confliction between vent and the Shaw network what ever that may be I don't know however.
Madhatter198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 04:05 PM   #14
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

the problem may also be upstream from Shaw (their Tier1 provider).
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 09:48 PM   #15
Zeknichov
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Just means the isp you are using is using the same traffic shaping protocols Shaw is using. Fortunately if I leave torrent programs off ping is manageable but it still lags.
Zeknichov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.