Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2009, 03:23 PM   #1
quantum900
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Connect issues with server on Linus

Hi all!

I have a new Fedora 11 set up. I have the software firewall disabled, and SELINUX disabled as well.

I installed the server software and can start the server. Any client I try to connect with (including on the SAME network as the server) it just displays the "MSG: Contacting server".

I can telnet to port 3784 and see on the server console that someone is trying to connect but that their auth times out, but yet is I try to connect with a client, it does nothing. The client displays the server information if I right click in the main window, select View -> Server Browser, but nothing on the server console and no connection made.

I tested the connect status:
[URL="http://ventrilo.com/status.php?hostname=207.231.112.22&port=3784"][/URL]

And it says it is up.

Any assistance here would be MUCH appreciated!

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 07-23-2009 at 02:27 PM. Reason: removed ipaddress for security
quantum900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:32 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

try disabling all other lan ports

check all logs, including the router, to see if 6100 UDP is being sent out
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:17 AM   #3
quantum900
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Prog-rocker,

Thanks for the reply. As stated though, I am on the same network (not going through a router). There are no other LAN ports on the server. Other services work fine (VNC, SSH).
quantum900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:15 AM   #4
quantum900
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Just another update. I installed nmap on the server and tested its own interface, and port 6100 is not open. Do you need to supply an argument to the server when starting telling it top use 6100? Like I said, there is NO firewall enabled, SELINUX is disabled and I tested this ON the server testing its own local interface and 6100 was not open.????
quantum900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:26 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

just re-checked the status and i was able to successfully connect my client to your server. looks like your good to go.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.