Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2010, 07:55 PM   #1
toxicity2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default Vent server won't let anyone else connect

Hey, I just downloaded the ventrilo server and then configured everything i needed. To connect I use my routers ip (192.168.1.101). I can connect fine, and I edited the channels and what not so everythings set up in there. Now the problem is, when I give my friends my computers IP to connect to me, they can't connect, and all vent says is, "contacting server."

I opened ports 3784 under both TCP and UDP (1 option for both) and then 6100 under UDP. Both are enabled and open (i use a wrt300n). My windows firewall is allowing vent and ventsrv to pass. 192.168.1.101 is the DMZ as well. I'm not sure what else to try, nothing seems to work. Any suggestions?
toxicity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 02:34 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

are you having outside users connect by entering your WAN ipaddress:

[URL]http://www.ventrilo.com/myip.php[/URL]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 09:09 PM   #3
toxicity2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

sorry, double topic. I didnt know my old topic from years ago was still here. you can merge or delete.

anyway, I have tried having them connect through WAN, to no avail.
toxicity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 12:03 PM   #4
toxicity2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

nothing eh?
toxicity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 02:47 PM   #5
DiMeThIcOnE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I'm having the same problem. When I first put up the server no one can connect through the WAN ip initially and then at random maybe an hour later or so it will start working. Ports open router set up exactly right firewall accepting Vent Serv and client it's really weird. Something makes me think its a issue with Vista 64 bit. Makes no sense that it works at random sometimes and other times not.
DiMeThIcOnE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 02:58 PM   #6
DiMeThIcOnE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default ok

I got it working right now by enabling DMZ in my routers settings for my PC that hosts the server. Essentially it eliminates all need for port forwarding as it opens that all ports on that specified PC on the router. I don't see why I should have to do this instead of just opening the necessary ports but this seems to work.
DiMeThIcOnE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 03:13 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

@ DiMe

what make/model router are you using?

is the router firmware up to date

does the router have a config option for virtual servers? if yes then try configuring the ports there

try creating 2 separate entries for 3784, on for TCP and one for UDP

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 06-01-2010 at 08:58 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 08:59 PM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

@ toxicity

did you get it to work?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 06:26 PM   #9
toxicity2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
Default

nope. I actually just gave up a few days ago. Apparently its just one more thing to piss me off in life -_-
toxicity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 08:51 PM   #10
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,460
Default

can you post pics of the router portforward setup and an ipconfig from the server.

did i have you check to make sure the router firmware is up to date?

or try doing a factory reset then re-entering the portforward info?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.