Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 09:00 PM   #1
Stick-Pin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default sound levels?

How do I turn down the volume of the ppl I'm recieving? They hear me fine but I'm hearing them really loud. I think my specs are irrelevant as all is working well otherwise.
Thanks.
Stick-Pin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:27 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

here a mutliple options to try

vent setup/voice tab, set inbound volume

individual user - rt-clik on user name / misc / special effects / add volume / adjust level
(same for specific channel)

all incoming voices - setup/voice tab / SFX / add volume / adjust level
(same for binds and speech(TTS) tabs)
or, rt-clik on server name / misc / special effects / add volume / adjust level

windows vista/7 - click on the white speaker icon in the system tray / clik 'mixer' link / adjust volume slider on ventrilo

This will adjust loud and soft voices to a normal level:

[FONT=Verdana]Normalizing Volume per Server[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]- Right-click on ServerName[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Select Miscellaneous / Special Effects[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Select Compressor and click Add[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Under Compressor Properties use the following settings [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Gain = Adjust for how loud you want people to be (see below)[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Attack = 0.01 [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Release = Around 500 [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Threshold = Around -30 [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Ratio = 100 [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- Pre delay = 4.0 [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Or these settings: [URL="http://ventrilo.com/forums/showpost.php?p=95315&postcount=4"]http://forum.ventrilo.com/showpost.php?p=95315&postcount=4[/URL][/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]What the settings do:[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Gain [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]How much volume you feed into the compressor. Not really relevant unless everyone is too quiet, then you can turn this up a little; turning it up too much will sound EXTREMELY BAD.[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Attack [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]How fast volume change will happen. example: setting this to 500 means that any- [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]thing coming in will only be dropped in volume after a half a second. for vent this should [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]be set as low as possible. [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Release [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]how fast the compressor stops changing things. not really that relevant with vent, setting it around 500 is good for voice material. [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Threshold [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]This sets the point where we actually start changing what[/FONT][FONT=Arial Unicode MS][FONT=Courier New]’[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Verdana]s coming in. Whereas 0 is the absolute loudest you can have for an input, -60 is super quiet. Average users will probably come in somewhere around -25 to -15, with the occaisional few being really q[/FONT][FONT=Verdana]uiet, which is why I have this set so low. [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Ratio [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]How much any sound below the set threshold gets compressed and/or modified in the volume department. [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]If you still want to hear SOME volume variation then set this lower (2-4)... the higher you set it the closer in volume everyone will be. [/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Pre delay [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Mostly just deals with processing; with computer and digital processors they can look ahead a few milliseconds to see what needs to be dropped in volume or changed before it actually comes through the speakers. Highest is ideal.[/FONT]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:48 AM   #3
Stick-Pin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Awesome! That worked, it was the Gain. I went from a low tech headset to a Logitech G35 and had to tweak alot.
Thanks for all your work here Prog-Rocker!
Stick-Pin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 04:36 PM   #4
Stick-Pin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Default

I readjusted things with a new PC setup. Is there anyway to test the levels without talking to my friends? Would I hear changes in the Test With section in Set Up? Win7 64bit

Last edited by Stick-Pin; 07-10-2012 at 04:39 PM.
Stick-Pin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

i 'think' you will hear the changes using the test with option. it won't hurt to try.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.