Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2005, 01:28 AM   #1
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default Running Ventrilo as a service

How can I run my Ventrilo Client as a service in msconfig so it starts up on its own? is there a parameter at the end of the Target Line?
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:29 AM   #2
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

ps I have XP Pro
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:37 AM   #3
livewire
Junior Member
 
livewire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mt. savage, Maryland
Posts: 21
Default

Once you have downloaded the appropriate server program you can follow these steps to get a default server up and running ASAP.

Windows platform:

1) Download and execute the latest Ventrilo Windows Server. This will create an entry in your Start menu called "VentSrv".

2) From the "VentSrv" menu click the "Ventrilo Server" menu option. This will open a console window application that the server will run in.

This will start the server using default settings which should be more then sufficient for the normal user.

The ventrilo server does not have a GUI interface. All output will occur in the console window.

To change the configuration of the server simply click Start -> VentSrv -> Edit INI file. This will open the server INI configuration file using the Notepad program. Make the necessary changes, save the file and restart the server. The INI file is documented in the "Setup Documentation" menu option.

The server can be started in the background on the NT / 2000 / XP platforms via a service program. First make sure you have the server configured properly and in a usable state as shown above because once you start it as a service you will not see any visual feedback. You need only click on the VentSrv -> Service -> Install menu option once after installing the program. The next time you reboot your computer the server will be automatically started in the background as a Service application.
livewire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:45 AM   #4
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by livewire
Once you have downloaded the appropriate server program you can follow these steps to get a default server up and running ASAP.

Windows platform:

1) Download and execute the latest Ventrilo Windows Server. This will create an entry in your Start menu called "VentSrv".

2) From the "VentSrv" menu click the "Ventrilo Server" menu option. This will open a console window application that the server will run in.

This will start the server using default settings which should be more then sufficient for the normal user.

The ventrilo server does not have a GUI interface. All output will occur in the console window.

To change the configuration of the server simply click Start -> VentSrv -> Edit INI file. This will open the server INI configuration file using the Notepad program. Make the necessary changes, save the file and restart the server. The INI file is documented in the "Setup Documentation" menu option.

The server can be started in the background on the NT / 2000 / XP platforms via a service program. First make sure you have the server configured properly and in a usable state as shown above because once you start it as a service you will not see any visual feedback. You need only click on the VentSrv -> Service -> Install menu option once after installing the program. The next time you reboot your computer the server will be automatically started in the background as a Service application.
I dont know if i stated but Im asking about how to make the Ventrilo CLIENT run as a NT/XP/2000 service. I do not use a freeware ventserver at this time.
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:49 AM   #5
livewire
Junior Member
 
livewire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mt. savage, Maryland
Posts: 21
Default

oh ok sorry it's late and i'm tired didn't completly read lol my bad
livewire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:56 AM   #6
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

well do you know how to do such a thing hehe is it so late that you forget to reply with answer !hahaha silly man tag you're in in forum land
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 07:00 PM   #7
titansniper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 75
Default

did anyone have an answer to this hehe
titansniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.