Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2008, 01:20 AM   #11
Stryder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Finally!!!!

I have already posted in these forums about Torrent programs causing issues with ventrilo! This started as of Sept/07 with version 2.3 and has continued into version 3.0. Here's the thread I started!!! You all need to check it out [URL]http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26030[/URL]. It has a reference # there for the troubleshooting I've started with Shaw the guy's name is Dan. They are looking into the issue on a network level in the Langley area but couldn't be soon enough. I sense alot of free internet coming our way.

The problem is in the ip. Somehow when you use a torrent program like Azureus, Bitlord, or utorrent it's like Shaw kills the upload from that ip address. The only way around this is to uninstall any torrent program form your computer, pull a restart, then assign a new MAC address using your router and in doing so get a new ip address for your computer. Do a renew and refresh to make sure you have a new ip. then ventrilo will work fine until you download a torrent program again. I think it has to do with some new "Packet Shaping" software or they messed something up when they installed all their digital phones in the Langley area. The phone thing they have told me is not poss. as it runs seperate but hey it all started around the same time.

Just in case,
Shaw Reference#: [FONT=Tahoma]20080124-5024535[/FONT]
[FONT=Tahoma]Email: [EMAIL="van.help@sjrb.ca"]van.help@sjrb.ca[/EMAIL][/FONT]
[FONT=Tahoma][/FONT]
[FONT=Tahoma]email email email!!!!!!![/FONT]
Stryder is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 08:06 PM   #12
Burton90
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

For the love of god I hope we're finally getting somewhere.

Thanks gonna send a email right now
Burton90 is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 08:29 PM   #13
Amemet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I'm in Calgary Alberta, with Shaw Cable, an also jump from my normal (30~) ping to anywhere upwards of 31,000!

I will send an email to Shaw aswell with a link to this forum so maybe SOMEONE will finally realise that this is NOT a single person problem.
Amemet is offline  
Old 02-05-2008, 12:42 AM   #14
Recognize
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default

This sounnds right. I am in Langley BC and had the same issue. I use Utorrent. What I end up doing was reinstalling windows, which changes mac adresses. It worked fine after that. I didnt know wht was causing this issue, but had the feeling that Shaw was keeping tabs on my ip.

Shaw makes it so every ones ip stays the same, even if you move. Its the mac adress. I ended up getting a program called Madmac that changes mac adresses because I dont use a router. Pluged right into the wall.

Thanks for the info.
Recognize is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:36 PM   #15
Dyrel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Confirmed for me too. Vent would lag to 30,000ms and drop off. Changed router'd MAC address and it worked fine.
Dyrel is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 02:20 AM   #16
Gullington
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Happening to me too, I'm with Shaw in Victoria BC though. It only seems to lag when other people talk, I watch the ping spike up. Other people apparently can hear me fine. Any fixes? I can't get the MAC thing to work, everytime I change it I can't connect to the internet.
Gullington is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 04:38 AM   #17
Gullington
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Emailed Shaw, and got a response quite quickly.

Quote:
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]Hello[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]Thank you for taking the time to email us.[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]Shaw does not perform packet shaping on ventrillo connections.[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]If a bit torrent client on the machine that is the ventrillo server is open and downloading/uploading [/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]this will afftect the latency on the server. We would recommend not running filesharing applications[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]while trying to run a ventrillo server.[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]Thank you for choosing Shaw!
----------------------------------------
Lee

[/FONT]
[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial]
[/FONT]

Last edited by Gullington; 02-15-2008 at 05:01 AM.
Gullington is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:15 AM   #18
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Yep, this should be a lesson for everyone. More and more ISP's are traffic shaping torrent users (or anything they detect as filesharing traffic) into crappy-levels of service.

If you want quality Internet service, don't run that stuff.
wadesworld is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 11:23 PM   #19
MegaHz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Has anyone heard back from Shaw on this? I just started experiencing the same thing this week in the Red Deer, AB region.
MegaHz is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 01:50 AM   #20
PhantomSr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Fort McMurray

Happening to me in Fort McMurray now.. Started 3 days ago. Beyond annoying. Traffic gets queued somewhere for over 3-5 minutes than all gets dumped to me at once. Shaw will never admit to anything you can't prove so have fun with this one. Want a real solution? Switch to TELUS anyone else you can get your hands on and tell them why you left. Maybe Shaw will have it fixed by the time TELUS breaks it and you'll be able to go back.

Last edited by PhantomSr; 03-01-2008 at 02:23 AM.
PhantomSr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.