Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2009, 02:22 AM   #1
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default DJ down, assistance needed

I have been running Jackpilot and Vent to play iTunes for friends for a year now, and I've done something to screw it up, but can't figure it out.

I am using a MacBook Pro. I have Jackpilot set up so that I get iTunes connecting to Vent, but now I get no sound. I've tried changing the input and output options in vent, tried clicking mute, tried changing settings in the mac audio control panel, nothing. The only thing that gets any reaction is when I change the Vent input and output settings to default. When I do that, I get a split second of sound playing through, and then it shuts off. This also has the odd effect of also moving the Ventrilo entry in Jackpilot immediately from the "receive port" column to the "send port" column.

Per the various help threads on these forums, I have the vent settings:
Sound output: default
Sound input: Jack Router
Silence time: 10 seconds
Sensitivity: 1

Other notes/peculiarities: When I slide the volume bar under "line input" to the right, Vent resets it to Minimum whenever I click OK.

Totally at wits end. I assume I'm creating some incorrect looping mechanism and this is something silly like a box checked incorrectly or wrong setting, but after 2 hours of fail, I've resorted to asking for help. Help!
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 09:35 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

this is an old post but did you miss any of the settings:

http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showpost.php?p=52845&postcount=1
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 11:24 AM   #3
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default

No, I'd searched for and read all of the vent/itunes/jackpilot threads already.
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 02:35 PM   #4
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I also found a thread in the Jackpilot forums where some people reported the same problem with Ventrilo:
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/jackosx/message/2201

but there is no posted solution.
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 01:50 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

Quote:
When I slide the volume bar under "line input" to the right, Vent resets it to Minimum whenever I click OK.
i suspect that another program is setting that volume back.

are there any error messages in the vent log file?

rt-clik in window/view/log file/scroll to bottom

what version of OS are you running?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 04:04 AM   #6
Gracia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

This is exactly what was just happening to me (reason why I registered today in the first place) and I just fixed this five minutes ago, no joke. And truth be told I'm not exactly sure what I did to make it stay, but I have a few ideas.

In vent I muted sound, then went about business as usual.

When I got to the manager I made sure to double-click on the in1 under Ventrilo, then I would click on Out1 under the Connections tab on the far right. I can't say for sure that this fixed it, but it stopped switching back and forth for me. Good luck and godspeed.

(Did a quick test and unchecked Mute Sound and it started switching again)
Gracia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 07:55 PM   #7
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default

That fix didn't work for me, Garcia

Here's my log, Prog:

Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000105 EndHTML:0000008970 StartFragment:0000002320 EndFragment:0000008934 Mac OS X Version 10.4.11 (Build 8S2167)
2009-12-02 11:09:44 -0800
Dec 2 11:09:45 dmitri-williams-computer mDNSResponder: Adding browse domain local.
2009-12-02 11:09:46.632 SystemUIServer[88]
MenuCracker
see http://sourceforge.net/projects/menucracker
MenuCracker is now loaded. Ready to accept new menus. Ignore the failure message that follow.
2009-12-02 11:09:46.639 SystemUIServer[88] failed to load Menu Extra: NSBundle (loaded)
2009-12-02 11:09:46.773 SystemUIServer[88] lang is:en
Dec 2 11:09:48 dmitri-williams-computer SystemStarter[43]: lstat("/Library/StartupItems/NortonAutoProtect.kextcache/NortonAutoProtect.kextcache"): Not a directory
Dec 2 11:09:53 dmitri-williams-computer mDNSResponder: NOTE: Wide-Area Service Discovery disabled to avoid crashing defective DNS relay 192.168.1.1.
Debugger() was called!
Dec 2 12:14:32 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleep request recorded: Wed Dec 2 12:14:32 2009\n\n
Dec 2 12:14:32 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleep demand recorded: Wed Dec 2 12:14:32 2009\n\n
Dec 2 15:18:00 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleeptime recorded: Wed Dec 2 12:14:32 2009\n\n
Dec 2 15:18:00 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: waketime is: Wed Dec 2 15:18:00 2009\n\n
Dec 2 15:18:09 dmitri-williams-computer mDNSResponder: NOTE: Wide-Area Service Discovery disabled to avoid crashing defective DNS relay 192.168.1.1.
Dec 2 15:48:09 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleep request recorded: Wed Dec 2 15:48:09 2009\n\n
Dec 2 15:48:09 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleep demand recorded: Wed Dec 2 15:48:09 2009\n\n
Dec 2 16:13:21 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: sleeptime recorded: Wed Dec 2 15:48:09 2009\n\n
Dec 2 16:13:21 dmitri-williams-computer |Kv
[188]: waketime is: Wed Dec 2 16:13:21 2009\n\n
jackdmp 1.9.4
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
Copyright 2004-2009 Grame.
jackdmp comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
JACK server starting in realtime mode with priority 10
Separated input = 'Built-in Input'
Separated output = 'Built-in Output'
CoreAudio driver is running...
JackGraphManager::Connect already connected port_src = 9 port_dst = 3
Destination port in attempted (dis)connection of system: playback_1 and iTunes: out1 is not an input port
JackGraphManager::Connect already connected port_src = 10 port_dst = 4
Destination port in attempted (dis)connection of system: playback_2 and iTunes: out2 is not an input port
JackEngine::XRun: client = Ventrilo was not run: state = 2
JackAudioDriver::ProcessAsync Process error
2009-12-02 16:39:46.036 JackPilot[255] *** Assertion failure in -[NSOutlineView expandItem:expandChildren:], TableView.subproj/NSOutlineView.m:709
2009-12-02 16:39:46.037 JackPilot[255] *** NSTimer discarding exception 'Invalid parameter not satisfying: item' that raised during firing of timer with target 183d400 and selector 'reloadTimer'
JackGraphManager::Connect already connected port_src = 5 port_dst = 3
Destination port in attempted (dis)connection of system: playback_1 and Ventrilo: out1 is not an input port
JackGraphManager::Connect already connected port_src = 6 port_dst = 4
Destination port in attempted (dis)connection of system: playback_2 and Ventrilo: out2 is not an input port
In HrOamApplicationGetCommandBars
In HrOamApplicationGetCommandBars
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 10:05 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

from the last lines it looks like jack doesn't like the port settings. i'll try setting this up on my 10.4.11 system to see if i can get it to work.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:51 PM   #9
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
from the last lines it looks like jack doesn't like the port settings. i'll try setting this up on my 10.4.11 system to see if i can get it to work.
Very much appreciated.
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 01:24 AM   #10
Suntan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
from the last lines it looks like jack doesn't like the port settings. i'll try setting this up on my 10.4.11 system to see if i can get it to work.

Any luck? I am still in fail mode. This is ever since the new Vent update, btw.

If there is a way to get the previous version, I'd love to go back. I haven't been able to find that anywhere.
Suntan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.