Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 02:16 PM   #1
strifefox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Oddly high ping

It just started today. Last night and before that Ventrillo runs smoothly for me. Today I log on and my incoming is very bad. My ping which usually does not rise over 47 is hitting between 6,000+ and 10,000+ when ever someone else talks or logs into any server i go on. (Ive tried 3 different servers). But when I talk everyone says that it comes in clear and does not lag.

When I hear them, it is heavily lag and cuts in and out, though when it sits idle for a while my ping drops back down. Ive tested my firewall settings, my audio hardware profile, ran my virus, maleware, and spybot scanners as well. Also, uninstalled/reinstalled ventrillo. Upgraded Ventrillo, rebooted and restarted the modem and router. Nothing seems to want to fix this problem for me. Any suggestions for things I should try next to fix this new problem?
strifefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 03:01 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

who is your ISP?
can you provide a tracert to the server while you are transmitting to the server.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:38 PM   #3
Maddison
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I am experiencing the same issue. I play WoW and have no lag what so ever in game but for some reason tonite my ventrilo ping is over 29k. I called my isp and they said they were unable to help me with this issue, that the issue must be with ventilo?
Maddison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:57 PM   #4
FroHawk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

this is something like the problem i get...

do you guys some times just disconnect?
FroHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 02:20 PM   #5
Swiftee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Ive had the exact same thing happen! I have been using this ventrilo server for about a year or so! The last 2-3 days when somebody talks they lag like crazy/keep breaking up and then my ping jumps from 30 - 25k+ and i randomnly get DC for no reason. Anyone have a clue on why this is happening and how to fix it?
Swiftee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 04:45 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

first:

[FONT=Verdana]try powering off the modem-router-pc (in that order) for at least 60 seconds each (this will clear all cached data)[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Try re-installing or updating the router firmware[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Temporarily disable all firewall/virus applications[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]perform a traceroute to the server when it happens and post the results:

start > run[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]cmd {hit enter}[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

[/FONT]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 04:18 PM   #7
Rickstar81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi i've been having all the same problems it seems of you guys, people can seem to hear me fine on vent so my speech does'nt break up but i am unable to listen to other people on the server as speec is always ittermittent, it does'nt matter how many people ther are on the server or wheter i'm playing a game. It does this with just vent running. I've tried so many things all the above that you have suggested plus more. here is my traceroute if anyone understands these and can give me any information it would be gratefuly appreciated.


Tracing route to 195.242.238.102 over a maximum of 30 hops
1 49 ms 99 ms 99 ms api.home [192.168.1.254]
2 20 ms 21 ms 20 ms 217.32.144.160
3 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms 217.32.144.190
4 22 ms 22 ms 23 ms 213.120.181.50
5 22 ms 23 ms 22 ms 213.120.179.5
6 23 ms 22 ms 22 ms 213.120.179.178
7 22 ms 22 ms 23 ms 213.120.179.113
8 22 ms 22 ms 22 ms core2-ge5-0-0.sheffield.ukcore.bt.net [217.32.1
1.57]
9 35 ms 30 ms 31 ms 62.172.102.57
10 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms core2-pos14-1.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [195.99.1
5.229]
11 32 ms 32 ms 31 ms 195.99.125.86
12 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms 78-33-11-214.static.enta.net [78.33.11.214]
13 3479 ms 41 ms 90 ms 10ge-4-4.cat2.sov.lon.as29131.net [87.117.211.1
]
14 31 ms 31 ms 31 ms 195.242.238.100
15 37 ms 32 ms 32 ms 195.242.238.102
Trace complete.
Rickstar81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:19 AM   #8
Andy31
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi all,

Seems I'm getting the same problem. Once 10+ people our on vent i get spiky ping (normal 30, now 5k+) and the incoming sound lags out. I wonder if the people getting this problem use BT? will post a trace once i get home.

Cheers
Andy31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:23 AM   #9
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

rickstar -

can you try another couple traces plz. if you look at hop #13, there's a full 3.5 sec lag (3479ms) to that point. numbers like that will cause the vent ping to increase.

that hop may have just been an intermittant spike too which is why you should perform mutilple traces when the lag starts.

who's your ISP?
what's your down/up bandwidth - [URL="http://www.speedtest.net"]www.speedtest.net[/URL]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 02:49 PM   #10
Psycho Sam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I am having exactly the same problem, until recently everything was working fine. From reading around on various forums BT seems to be the main culprit, any non http traffic gets dramatically throttled which is killing vent. Right now I am lucky to get a ping below 5,000. The server is in London and I am situated in Birmingham.

Downloads, webpages even games seem to work ok just not vent. At the moment it is unusable and until BT remove the limitation I seem stuffed. I have 10mb connection too.

Just tried Teamspeak and it works fine, must be something to do with the traffic vent uses, we even lowered the codec on the vent server to no effect.

Last edited by Psycho Sam; 08-27-2009 at 02:59 PM.
Psycho Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.