Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2009, 04:18 PM   #1
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default Vista & Ventrilo: Choppy outbound voice

Vista Home SP2 & Ventrilo 3.0.5 -

Installed Ventrilo on Vista. I can hear everyone. The problem is all they hear is my choppy voice. The Setup Test play back is good. Setup Monitor shows good. Can anybody help? Here's my setup.

Voice:
Outgoing voice communications: Enabled
Use Push To Talk Hotkey: Enabled
Use Direct Input to detect Hotkey: Enabled
Play Key Clicks:Enabled
Use Direct Sound: Enabled
Output Device: Speakers(Realtek High Definition Audio)
Input Device: FrontMic(Realtek High Definition Audio)
Hardware input mixer(Optional)
Mixer FrontMic(Realteck Hight Definition Audio)
Mux: Master Volume
Line: Master Voume
Line Volume: Max.
Amplifiers:
Outbound:8
Inbound:8

Binds:

Play binds sent by others users:Enabled
Play MISSING.WAV if bind file not found:Enabled
Output Device: Default DirectSound device
Wave file:+10

Speech:
Play Text-to-speech messages sent by other users:Enabled
Voiceefault
Text filter:Level 2 - Normal
Phonetic:Phonetic if available
Use DirectSound:Enabled
Output deviceefault DirectSound Device
Rate:+10
Volume:100

First time Ventrilo user. Would real like to use the software. It's really important to stop my choppy voice. Can someone help with this problem?

Thank for any help.
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 04:28 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

first suggest setting the outbound amplifier=0. between that and the line volume maxed out the signal is being over-driven.

if you need more mic volume then try enabling 'mic boost' in the realtek audio manager
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 12:01 AM   #3
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Setting the outbound amplifier=0 did not stop the choppiness. Setting amplifier to -10 did not end the problem.
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 12:03 PM   #4
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Someone suggested to disable, 'give application exclusive control' under properties for my microphone. In the past, as anyone found this helpful?
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 04:35 PM   #5
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Working with the setup in an attempt to make my outbound less choppy. Now, I get is message: "Unable to open the system sound control panel "C:\window\system32\sndvol32.exe" r rc=2."

Uninstalled and reinstalled. Problem continues. Ventrilo uninstall program failed to remove all it setup? Ran a clean up application. Maybe that will remove those Setup files.
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 05:12 PM   #6
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Real problem with the full uninstall of Ventrilo. Every after using REVO Uninstaller there are remaining files from the previous installation. Because of these file I can get a clear install. The cause of the bug remains.
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 10:58 AM   #7
JES2009
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Currently, problem is unresolved.
JES2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 11:20 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

[FONT=Verdana]perform a traceroute to the server when it happens and post the results:

start > run[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]cmd {hit enter}[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

[/FONT]
does the vent ping display unusually high numbers when you talk?

can you try using the rear mic jack (also change the input/mixer device in vent setup)

in the realtek audio manager, try disabling all mic effects

is the realtek driver up to date?

[FONT=Verdana]- If you have a brand-name PC, like Dell or HP, then check the manufacturers website for driver updates.[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- If you built the PC and use the on-board sound device then check the motherboard manufacturers website for drivers for your model motherboard.[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]- If you use a plug-in soundcard, like SoundBlaster, then check that manufacturers website for drivers.[/FONT]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.