Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2014, 08:26 PM   #1
Onepercenter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Exclamation I can not log into my guild server, but I can other servers

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Rob>telnet 206.217.130.34 xxxx
'telnet' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Users\Rob>tracert 206.217.130.34

Tracing route to 34.130.217.206.hypernia.com [206.217.130.34]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms homeportal [192.168.1.254]
2 25 ms 25 ms 23 ms 162-196-76-2.lightspeed.nworla.sbcglobal.net [16
2.196.76.2]
3 * 23 ms 26 ms 99.179.205.62
4 26 ms 25 ms 27 ms 12.83.115.1
5 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms attga04jt.ip.att.net [12.122.84.149]
6 34 ms 35 ms 35 ms 192.205.36.122
7 100 ms 96 ms 96 ms xe-8-3-0.chi12.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.180.245]
8 87 ms 88 ms 91 ms as23353.chi12.ip4.tinet.net [199.229.229.214]
9 70 ms 70 ms 83 ms ae11.cr1.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.73]
10 70 ms 71 ms 72 ms 71.ae1.ar1.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.153]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Telnet does not work....I have Windows 7

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 05-09-2014 at 08:16 AM. Reason: removed port# for security
Onepercenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 07:59 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

looks like a problem either at scnet.net or their connection to colocrossing.com. try contacting your isp and have them contact their provider.

i did a traceroute to your server and it also went thru scnet.net but used a different node

3 9 ms 15 ms 7 ms static-216-36-30-130.cpe.metrocast.net [216.36.30.130]
4 14 ms 9 ms 15 ms static-216-36-30-205.cpe.metrocast.net [216.36.30.205]
5 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms te0-6-0-15.ccr41.iad02.atlas.cogentco.com [38.122.63.149]
6 11 ms 12 ms 18 ms tiscali.iad01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.12.198]
7 36 ms 58 ms 34 ms xe-0-0-1.chi11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.107.113]
8 86 ms 34 ms 33 ms as23353.chi11.ip4.tinet.net [199.229.229.210]
9 45 ms 35 ms 36 ms ae4.cr2.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.87]
10 36 ms 36 ms 39 ms 72.ae2.ar1.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.155]
11 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms as36352.xe-2-1-3.ar1.ord6.us.scnet.net [50.31.151.170]
12 36 ms 35 ms 35 ms 10ge-2.fz146.chi1.colocrossing.com [206.217.137.254]
13 38 ms 34 ms 35 ms 34.130.217.206.hypernia.com [206.217.130.34]

Trace complete.
----------

telnet didn't work as it couldn't find the telnet program.

Enabling Telnet in Vista/Windows 7

Control-Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off / select “Telnet Client” / click OK

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#. if you've eliminated all possibilities with your internal network then try contacting your ISP and have them try to telnet to the server to see if they can connect from their end.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 05-09-2014 at 08:15 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 08:43 AM   #3
Onepercenter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks,
I will contact At&T Uverse, but I already know they will say its not their issue. What do you mean by "have them contact their provider" ...AT&T contact colocrossing.com?
Onepercenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 09:05 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

att routes that packet to tinet who then routes it to scnet. i doubt you would be able to contact scnet directly but att should be able to. that's why i suggested contacting your isp.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 08:23 PM   #5
Onepercenter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Default

After an hour and a half on the phone with AT&T support (They had remote control of my computer) they came to the conclusion that it is not their service blocking me from the vent server.

The next step was to use the pay support. I passed.
Onepercenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.