Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2021, 01:52 PM   #1
JBubba57
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 4
Default vent 4.1.1 not working with Mac intel OS 12.1

Long time user of vent. Just upgraded from Mac intel from 2011 and OS High Sierra to Mac intel 2020 and OS Monterey (12.1). And upgraded from old Ventrilo version (don't recall which, but was pre-v4, and ran swell, but won't run on Mac OS 12) to ventrilo pro 4.1.1.

Problems:

1) Got the message many others have received in the past couple years about ventrilo not being a recognized apple developer, so had to use the security workaround, or the Mac OS wouldn't let me open the installer. Got it installed.

2) Can't setup the app for PTT and listen--it gives me 4 choices for the codec to use, but...

a) regardless of which I choose, it will not save my choice--everytime I click the gear setup button, my codec choice and KHz are back to the default (which don't work).
b) if I choose GSM 6.10, and then do test, I get the error message "Program bug. Source codec does not exist."
c) if I choose the other 3, and use any format KHz, and do test, it records me just fine (better of course with higher KHz) and it sounds good (such a melodious tenor voice I have, and my buds deserve to hear it), but....
**see 2)a) above, and
**nothing I do lets me actually go transmit to a server. I can connect, and I see myself in the server, but my light stays red and no one can hear me. I also can't hear others speaking to me. My mic is not muted, and it's the same with internal mac speakers vs. my USB logitech g330 headset.

Help. A game without my teammates' and enemies' voices is...just not a game.

I don't think it's other hardware issues, but if it will help to provide how many cores of cpu and Gb ram etc I have, let me know.

HELP.
JBubba57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 04:39 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

My setup is mac intel 2018 Monterey 12.0.1. with vent 4.1.1.

what hotkey are you using for ptt?

in vent setup, is 'use ptt hotkey' enabled?

when connected to the server the codec/format can't be changed as that is set by the server and/or channel. GSM was never supported by macos so i suspect your server is running opus (for ver 4)

in vent setup, what device name is set in the output/input device dropdown box.

in macos setup, goto security-privacy > privacy tab > accessibility and microphone > ventrilo should be listed and checked

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 12-24-2021 at 04:42 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 05:32 PM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

also,

on the vent window, are the sound/microphone enabled (boxes checked or red/green colored, depending on the theme)
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 06:37 PM   #4
JBubba57
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the response.



In response, I believe I had already tried all these settings, but for clarity:


what hotkey are you using for ptt? Keyboard: Left Control (what Iíve always used for Vent and TeamSpeak)

in vent setup, is 'use ptt hotkey' enabled? Yes

when connected to the server the codec/format can't be changed as that is set by the server and/or channel. GSM was never supported by macos so i suspect your server is running opus (for ver 4). Per the Vent menu (Server Browser), the server is running GMS 6.10 at 44 KHz.

in vent setup, what device name is set in the output/input device dropdown box. iMac speakers/iMac microphone (same result if I switch to Logitech G330 gaming headset for input/output). And again, TEST hears me via and plays me back via the currently chosen sources.

in macos setup, goto security-privacy > privacy tab > accessibility and microphone > ventrilo should be listed and checked. Yes, both checked, although the accessibility tab is greyed out (even though Ventrilo shows there and is checked). See images below.

on the vent window, are the sound/microphone enabled (boxes checked or red/green colored, depending on the theme). Yes, big old green colored speaker and mike buttons.




I have only the one Vent server in my list to try. I canít recall where in the Vent menu system I can find another server to connect to, to see if the problem is just my one server.




JBubba57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 09:53 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

when others are talking is their username/icon green or yellow? yellow indicates you are not auth'd to recv their broadcast.

afaik, macOS has never included support fot the gsm codec. i suggest asking the server owner to switch the server to the opus codec which is still in production and supported by both mac and windows clients. or, create a separate channel(s) that is configured for opus 48

lets check your user permissions:

rt-clik in main window > server admin > user editor > network tab (recv broadcast streams) > and Transmit tab (broadcast options checked)(mute globally unchecked)

then check the channel config:

rt-clik on channel name > channel admin > info > disable guest acct xmitting unchecked
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 10:03 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

you can try this server to test.

ventrilo.com

uses an SRV record so you don't need a port#. it's configured for opus and has a transmitting DJ channel.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:03 AM   #7
JBubba57
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you for the continued education.


My user permissions and the channel config are all correct.
When I was in the server earlier, only one other was there. His light came on but I couldn't hear him. I'll try again when more are in the server, now that I've gotten my Mac OS privacy/accessibility settings etc. all shipshape.


However, your test server worked just fine for me--green light came on for me when I used press to talk, although no one else was available to say they could hear me, or to let me hear them.


I'm confident now that it's like the server settings, and I'll contact the server admin to see if they can...."switch the server to the opus codec, which is still in production and supported by both mac and windows clients, or create a separate channel(s) that is configured for opus 48"


Thanks very much!
JBubba57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.