Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2015, 01:32 PM   #1
innerseek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default Everything seems to be blank

Hello! I am not the most computer savvy person so forgive me if my description is lacking. I haven't used Ventrillo in many months and when I try to start the program the bellow screenshot is all I get. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling several times, I did a factory reset on my router and made sure it was up to date, ran the program as admin., and also made sure my firewall was turned off to see if that was causing any problems. After the uninstall I tried to find any folders left behind if some old settings were throwing everything off. Any help is really appreciated.

innerseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:35 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

after connecting do you see the server name in the white area of the window?

rt-clik in the window > server admin > user editor > display tab > are any boxes checked
(if all boxes are unchecked then you need to contact a server admin to change your permissions)

then try this test:

Booting Into Safe-Mode

[url]http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Advanced-startup-options-including-safe-mode[/url]

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 09-22-2015 at 05:39 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 09:31 PM   #3
innerseek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your reply. I tried booting in safe mode and have the same results. Below is a screen shot of the safe mode boot. As you can see, in both modes when I right click on the server admin option all of those options are greyed/locked out.
[URL="http://imgur.com/QLR5FrO"]http://imgur.com/QLR5FrO[/URL]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
after connecting do you see the server name in the white area of the window?

rt-clik in the window > server admin > user editor > display tab > are any boxes checked
(if all boxes are unchecked then you need to contact a server admin to change your permissions)

then try this test:

Booting Into Safe-Mode

[url]http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Advanced-startup-options-including-safe-mode[/url]

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.
innerseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 11:43 PM   #4
ElleHarries
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Default

I have the same problem. I've tried to find any folders left behind if some old settings were throwing everything off.
ElleHarries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 09:06 AM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

first try disabling all firewall/AV/spyware/malware apps. check the windows taskmanager for any previous apps of the same type that might still be running. some of those apps don't uninstall completely unless you use their uninstall program.

then try this:

netsh winsock reset all

Open an elevated command prompt.

Windows 7 - click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as Administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a
confirmation, type the password, or click Allow/Continue.

Windows 8/10 - right-click Start icon, select 'Command Prompt (Admin)'

Type in the following command:

netsh winsock reset all

(Info: Most of the Internet connectivity problems arise out of corrupt Winsock settings. Windows sockets settings may get corrupted due to the installation of networking software, or perhaps due to a malware infestation. You will be able connect to the Internet, but the packets won't transfer back and forth. And errors such as "Page Cannot Be Displayed" may occur when using a browser.)
----------------

are you running any VPN type programs? proxy services connections?

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 10-02-2015 at 09:13 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 12:30 PM   #6
innerseek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default

I went through all the recommendations below but I am still having the same result unfortunately. I do have a VPN service but only run it at select times and made sure it is not running when I try to use vent. Is there anything else I can check?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
first try disabling all firewall/AV/spyware/malware apps. check the windows taskmanager for any previous apps of the same type that might still be running. some of those apps don't uninstall completely unless you use their uninstall program.

then try this:

netsh winsock reset all

Open an elevated command prompt.

Windows 7 - click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as Administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a
confirmation, type the password, or click Allow/Continue.

Windows 8/10 - right-click Start icon, select 'Command Prompt (Admin)'

Type in the following command:

netsh winsock reset all

(Info: Most of the Internet connectivity problems arise out of corrupt Winsock settings. Windows sockets settings may get corrupted due to the installation of networking software, or perhaps due to a malware infestation. You will be able connect to the Internet, but the packets won't transfer back and forth. And errors such as "Page Cannot Be Displayed" may occur when using a browser.)
----------------

are you running any VPN type programs? proxy services connections?
innerseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.