Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2011, 09:15 AM   #21
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
just for testing, is it possible to hook the pc directly to the modem (if it's separate from the router)
Both computers are actually hooked directed into the modem (wired connection).

Quote:
or to configure the router to put your pc into the DMZ section in order to bypass any router protocols?
Yes, I could set my modem to DMZ mode via modem configuration (192.168.21). I'll try this out and update you.

Edit: My modem only allows me to set DMZ mode for one of my computers at a time. Should I just try it on both?

Last edited by Jyces; 08-22-2011 at 09:26 AM.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:20 AM   #22
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

no, just try it with one of them. i'm beginning to think that Bell might be using packet-shaping to manage their net and the vent packets are getting tagged for low-priority.

have you ever used any torrent type programs?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 11:46 AM   #23
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
no, just try it with one of them. i'm beginning to think that Bell might be using packet-shaping to manage their net and the vent packets are getting tagged for low-priority
After setting it to DMZ mode, problem still alive. The strange thing about this situation is that I've been with Bell for 5+ years and have been using Vent for just as long, and this has never happened in the past. Seems so odd that all of a sudden this problem would occur.

Quote:
have you ever used any torrent type programs?
Yes. I've tried bittorrent, utorrent and many others. I stopped using them, as the download speed was ridiculously slow.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 06:09 PM   #24
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Recently called Bell, and they're continuously denying that it is their problem and they claim it is the program. Apparently they ran several tests, and everything comes up clear. They see no problems on their end. They did not want to send a technician out, as they thought it would be a waste of time.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:06 PM   #25
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

let's do a basic test of the mic.

make a long recording using windows recorder then listen to the quality when you play it back

[FONT=Verdana]Windows Vista/Windows 7[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
does the vent ping spike if it's the only program running?

would it be possible to take you pc to a friends house and hook to their internet and test? this might help eliminate the router as a problem.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:29 PM   #26
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
make a long recording using windows recorder then listen to the quality when you play it back
Quality of the mic is normal (sounds good).

Quote:
does the vent ping spike if it's the only program running?
Yes.

Quote:
would it be possible to take you pc to a friends house and hook to their internet and test? this might help eliminate the router as a problem.
Did this today, and Ventrilo worked perfectly with their connection (they used Cogeco).

I called Bell for the third time (after testing it on my friends connection), and they could no longer deny the obvious. They looked into the situation and believe that the modem is broken. They said that due to a recent lightning/thunderstorm we had in the area (which resulted in many power outages), that this could be the main cause of the problem. They're sending me a new modem within 48 hours, so I guess we shall see! I'll keep you updated.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:48 PM   #27
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

excellent news. glad to hear Bell is helping out.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 06:34 PM   #28
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
excellent news. glad to hear Bell is helping out.
Got my new modem, and the problem is still here. I immediately called Bell, and they are stumped. They decided they were going to add more upload to my account (it is currently at 700) because they think this could be the problem. I'll let you know if the upload solution helped. :/

Edit: Although I am 101% doubting it has anything to do with my upload limit. Only 2 out of the 3 computers in my house are active, and there aren't many programs running on either of them to cause the upload limit to be reached.

Last edited by Jyces; 08-24-2011 at 06:40 PM.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 07:26 PM   #29
Jyces
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Called again and they admitted that Ventrilo was most likely being flagged as a file sharing program and it is being throttled (just as BitTorrent and Utorrent). When I asked for a solution, they said they have no information on a solution to stop the throttling on this program and that it is not possible for them to fix this. Do you happen to know a solution to stop the Ventrilo throttling? If there is not a solution, I guess my last resort is switching ISP.
Jyces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:53 PM   #30
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

unfortunately vent has no control over throttling as that is all done at the ISP level on their own backbone. Their IT engineers should be capable of correcting this problem.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.