Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2005, 07:10 AM   #1
ArchDimmu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy Installion problem

So, like 2 months ago i unistalled old ventrilo. I dont remember what version was that.. And now, i tried to install Ventrilo 2.1.4, it say:

http://img280.echo.cx/img280/3597/ventriloerror3qt.png

If someone cant see the pic, there is:

Installer Information
Error 1606. Could not acces network location
%USERPROFILE%\Recent\

I cant even unistall older ventrilo, theres error too.

Operating System: Windows XP
ArchDimmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 10:13 AM   #2
southboom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I've got the exact same problem. i just regged to ask about it hehe. I uninstalled the old version and then tried to install the new one and that lil error msg pops up =/

Also got Win XP.
southboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 08:43 AM   #3
ArchDimmu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yep :/ Annoying..

I Hope someone who know that problem, answers

Thanks allready

EDIT: Same kind of problem there: http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showt...3083#post13083

Last edited by ArchDimmu; 06-28-2005 at 08:45 AM.
ArchDimmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 05:35 PM   #4
DaGoalie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Ive got the same exact problem except that it says Favorites where theirs says Recent.
Im trying to upgrade to the newest version 2.2.0 i think


IM also on XP
DaGoalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:51 AM   #5
DaGoalie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Lightbulb Possible Solution!

Hey Ive found a lot of solutions for this problem. Its not linked to vent really. I basically did a lot of searches on google for "Error 1606".
http://www.adeptscience.co.uk/kb/article/A516
I didnt use that program they recommended installing because well...I couldnt install it
There isnt any one solution for this. I ran across a lot of ones that werent tailored to my particular part of the problem ( i.e. Favorites instead of Recent )
I can try to save you some trouble i guess...
"A. Verify that the values under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders all have valid paths. If the paths point to a remote computer or mapped drive, verify and establish a connection to the remote computer to which the target location refers.
B. To access this key, use these steps:

C. Click Start and click Run.
D. In the Open box, type regedit and click OK.
E. Locate and click the key shown in Step 1.
F. In the right pane of the registry editor window, check the value of each folder key referenced here.
G. If there are invalid paths referenced, these values must be changed to point to valid drives.
H. Close the Registry Editor and Reboot the machine.
I. Rerun the installation."


my problem was that the key type for the Favorites key wasnt an expanded string, just a regular one where in this location it needs to be expanded. I changed it to expanded, exited, and everything works fine now
But like i said there isnt any one solution. Tell me is this works, or if it doesnt, ive found PLENTY of other possible solutions that didnt work for me, but might work for both of you
DaGoalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 03:07 AM   #6
southboom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yay thx man, got it working.

Last edited by southboom; 07-30-2005 at 03:15 AM.
southboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 02:53 AM   #7
LawJik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default

DaGoalie's tip there was the only one out of the bunches of fixes I have tried that ended up not working. After I changed my Recent key to an expanded key it worked well. (You have to delete the Recent key and then right click "User Shell Folder" New-> Expandable String Value). The problem is different for everyone, the recent key might not be the messed up key on your computer. Then i installed the Windows Install Clean Up from:
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...bd/msicuu2.exe
I ran that and removed my old version of Ventrillo, and re-installed Ventrilo 2.3.0 right after.
LawJik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 09:12 PM   #8
Tofuman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I had the same exact problem (Recent). This worked great for fixing it; I don't get that error anymore.

However, now it locks up about 3/4 through the installation (according to the progress bar). Any ideas for this one?

I've already uninstalled previous versions and deleted old registry keys.
Tofuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 09:16 PM   #9
Tofuman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

w00t! Nevermind. I created a new directory called Vent2.3, and it installed perfect.
Tofuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.