Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2007, 12:29 AM   #1
McRIot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Default 20,000 Pings

Is anyone else getting insanely high pings. I can hear everyone just fine but they can't hear me, when they do hear me it's a flooded mess of stuff I've said over the last hour. Sometimes I can't even connect to Vent without multiple retries and other days it connects fine with a stable ping for awhile. I am getting real frustrated with this crap. Never used to happen, at least one friend that I know of is having exactly the same problem. Is this a problem with the new Vent release?
McRIot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 12:57 AM   #2
bouchy73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

it's stupidly amazing when you think about it. we are there loyal users and this problem has been going on since they released and all they do is ask us the same questions and get the same results. your net is fine it's just the program which they have yet to admit. although when they do either figure it out or fix the program...hell you know what this should be stickied just so we can all see how many people have this problem.

Last edited by bouchy73; 11-26-2007 at 01:00 AM.
bouchy73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 09:10 PM   #3
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

I have yet to encounter this problem and we stream for days.

there has been talk about the QoS in the network drivers.
also, please provide a tracert to the server when the problem is occurring.
what is the server codec and format?

as an additional step, shut your computer down.
reboot (power cycle your router/modem)
restart your computer.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 06:46 PM   #4
McRIot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgraf View Post
I have yet to encounter this problem and we stream for days.

there has been talk about the QoS in the network drivers.
also, please provide a tracert to the server when the problem is occurring.
what is the server codec and format?

as an additional step, shut your computer down.
reboot (power cycle your router/modem)
restart your computer.
This isn't just one server that this is happening on. However for the server I regular on I did a tracert just for you guys as it was happening. As far as codec and format I don't know exactly but if I were to make an educated guess I would say they are using whatever the defaults are. Like I said it's not just this server I am having problems with. I also have a NuclearFallout (Seattle) Vent server that I know is running default settings and the same problem occurs. I can continue to list off the servers but that seems pointless. I have tested Vent on the same computer under XP Pro and Vista Ultimate, disabled all firewalls even tested it on a separate rig. I have concluded it's the vent program that is the problem. Teamspeak works fine, games work fine, HL2/TF2 Voice works fine. Vent 3.0.1 is broken!

Quote:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

Tracing route to kajo.ventrilo.org [209.247.212.52]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 28 ms 1 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
2 26 ms 29 ms 29 ms 70.71.128.1
3 30 ms 29 ms 29 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms rc1bb-ge5-0-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.105]
5 34 ms 29 ms 29 ms rc1wt-pos4-0-0.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.76.126]

6 31 ms 35 ms 29 ms te-3-4.car3.Seattle1.Level3.net [4.71.152.25]
7 38 ms 35 ms 35 ms ae-31-55.ebr1.Seattle1.Level3.net [4.68.105.158]

8 59 ms 77 ms 48 ms ae-3.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.132.49]
9 100 ms 51 ms 49 ms ae-71-71.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.134.198]

10 49 ms 48 ms 47 ms ae-21-79.car1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.67]
11 48 ms 47 ms 48 ms ge-1-0-27.cr1.snv.divo.net [4.79.217.163]
12 48 ms 47 ms 48 ms 209.247.212.52.ip.divo.net [209.247.212.52]

Trace complete.

Last edited by McRIot; 11-27-2007 at 07:02 PM.
McRIot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 06:53 PM   #5
thorg23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default

shot in the dark mcriot are you in the uk and are you on virgin adsl?
thorg23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 07:06 PM   #6
McRIot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Canada, BC, Cloverdale

and I'm on Shaw.

as is my friend who lives in Langley BC. (having the same problems)

The servers we connect to are in the U.S.
McRIot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 07:32 PM   #7
McRIot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianTarget View Post
You're both about 10 minutes drive from me then... I'm in Surrey, BC.

I have a buddy in Langley, also on Shaw, who isn't having any problems.

The ISP packet hypothesis is getting stronger and stronger, though. Are there any users out there having problems that *aren't* on Virgin ADSL UK or Shaw Cable Canada? (We all seem to be close to Vancouver at that)

Feel free to join my Vent Server (see my previous post "Proof it's happening"). I'm curious if the problems are internal to Shaw or if they're higher up the net stack.

I'm Kisst on your Vent, having the same problem.

Last edited by McRIot; 11-27-2007 at 08:07 PM.
McRIot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 02:07 PM   #8
Recognize
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default

I'm having the same issue and am in Langly, BC. The old Vent worked fine for me. This point release doesnt work. I am fine when I connect to a vent server but when I PTT and send my voice it jumps the ping to 400-20,000.
This is foolish. I've searched the net for a fix but I can't find one. Is it the isp?
Recognize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 07:17 PM   #9
Recognize
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Also weird to know that I can hear everyone else fine. No lag on the download of others voices. Just my upload. I tested it with a friend and it my sentance had a 4 min delay on it. The ping was 9000 so that makes sence I guess. Whats the issue?

I'll be bumping this topic untill I find out what the issue is.
Recognize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 03:56 PM   #10
hilmonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I live in south Langley, BC as well and I am having some serious problems that are very similar. I have been using vent servers for years with no problems, until 3.0. I use a server with the port 2359 and have zero problems, as soon as I go to another vent server with different port numbers I can hear people with no problems but when I talk I have between 1.5k - 30k pings. Is there any way of testing ports to see what will work? I tried connecting to various Ventrilo servers that friends own, test servers from companies. I have tried the connections behind a router, without a router, on seperate computers on the same internet connection, all with the same results.
hilmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.