Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2020, 10:16 PM   #1
Rickkp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Default New v4.1.0 Ventrilo for Mac 'Big Sur' has a problem

The old Ventrilo won't work in Big Sur, requests the new update. Downloaded it and tried to install but it fails informing me that ...
"VentriloPro.pkg" can't be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-19-2020 at 05:38 PM.
Rickkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 09:41 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

try setting this option:

in the system preferences > security > general section, try setting the 'allow apps downloaded from' to 'identified developers'

and don't forget to set it back after testing.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 10:40 AM   #3
Rickkp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Default

It is already set that way.
This is Big Sur, OS 11. There are changes. But this is a first time I've seen that response to a dmg.
Rickkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 11:13 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

i will setup big sur on a mac mini to test.


are you running it on a new silicon system?

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-19-2020 at 11:23 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 03:49 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

update:

I did get the same error message but there is a way to get around it.

start the vent install
click on the error message
goto 'system preferences' > 'security & privacy' > general tab
click on the 'open anyway' button
click on the 'open' button
the install should then start

I will have the Devs investigate why it's not being recognized as coming from an identified developer

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 11-19-2020 at 05:54 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 10:28 AM   #6
Rickkp
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Default

start the vent install
click on the error message
goto 'system preferences' > 'security & privacy' > general tab
------------
Thanks, I didn't just go to Security & Privacy because usually if that is needed it tells one to do so.
Yeah, that is not normal, and since the message made no sense and nothing I did (yeah, didn't do that) worked I figured it would be best to shout out about it.
So now I have the latest Vent installed.
Thanks again.
Rickkp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 06:59 AM   #7
matchOfficede
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: München
Posts: 1
Default

I have tried it install it several times and it doesn't work.
matchOfficede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 10:59 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,463
Default

@match

have you followed these steps:

start the vent install
click on the error message
goto 'system preferences' > 'security & privacy' > general tab
click on the 'open anyway' button
click on the 'open' button
the install should then start
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.