Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 10:52 PM   #1
CrimsonDrake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Sudden, Instant Disconnects (No Lag)

I've developed a rather troubling issue seemingly out of the blue and with a previously clean track record. Starting about two days ago it has begun to disconnect from whichever server I am connected to quite literally out of the blue. No lag or audio issues precede it and I can communicate fine right until I am suddenly disconnected without any error messages or indication as to why. I am returned to the starting window for Ventrilo and after the cool-down on the connect button expires it auto-reconnects without any issues (I can even hurry it up and reconnect right away). Whenever I reconnect the "old me" is still there and sticks around for a few more minutes. This has been happening so often that I've gathered quite a club of instances of myself at times, up to 12 or more.

I'm using Ventrilo 3.0.7 on an HP Pavilion laptop with Windows 7 installed. I am connected through cable broadband from Virgin Media in the UK (47mb dl/4 mb up according to [URL="http://www.speedtest.net/"]www.speedtest.net[/URL]) and use a D-Link DIR-615 router. I've disabled all firewall and antivirus protection I had running and still encounter the problem.

I've tried running a ping command with -t to watch for any lost packets but even after several disconnects have occurred when I interrupt the command it reports 0 packet loss and very low latency values. Pathpings are similar, 0 lost packets across all intermediary addresses. I've done this for several of the Ventrilo servers I use and results have been green across the board. I'm out of ideas and open to any suggestions you may have for fixing this or at least troubleshooting further.

I should also mention that other software that requires an internet connection is entirely unaffected and does not even stutter when Ventrilo disconnects, with the possible exception of World of Warcraft. Strangely, I have nearly identical symptoms there (instant, no lag disconnects occuring randomly and taking me back to the login screen) however they do NOT occur simultaneously with the Ventrilo disconnects. Also, Ventrilo and WoW disconnect this way both when running concurrently and independently.

Thank you for your time and any assistance you may provide.
CrimsonDrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 11:27 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

is there a similar netpath when doing a traceroute to the vent and wow servers?

you can find the ipaddress of the wow server at wowwiki.com and lookup realms.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:17 AM   #3
CrimsonDrake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

For WoW:

Tracing route to 195.12.242.246 over a maximum of 30 hops

0 Crimson-NB.cable.virginmedia.net [192.168.0.113]
1 cpc2-colc6-2-0-gw.7-4.cable.virginmedia.com [80.7.84.1]
2 colc-core-1a-ge-111-1383.network.virginmedia.net [213.107.225.61]
3 popl-bb-1a-xe-701-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.57]
4 popl-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.174.230]
5 leed-bb-1a-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.237]
6 tcl3-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.198]
7 ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.93.69]
8 ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.225]
9 prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.247.6]
10 ffm-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.245.102]
11 ffm-b10-link.telia.net [80.91.247.187]
12 * * *
Computing statistics for 275 seconds...
Source to Here This Node/Link
Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
0 Crimson-NB.cable.virginmedia.net [192.168.0.113]
0/ 100 = 0% |
1 10ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% cpc2-colc6-2-0-gw.7-4.cable.virginmedia.com [80.7.84.1]
0/ 100 = 0% |
2 8ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% colc-core-1a-ge-111-1383.network.virginmedia.net [213.107.225.61]
0/ 100 = 0% |
3 10ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% popl-bb-1a-xe-701-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.57]
0/ 100 = 0% |
4 10ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% popl-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.174.230]
0/ 100 = 0% |
5 19ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% leed-bb-1a-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.237]
0/ 100 = 0% |
6 24ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% tcl3-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.198]
0/ 100 = 0% |
7 16ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.93.69]
0/ 100 = 0% |
8 16ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.225]
0/ 100 = 0% |
9 25ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.247.6]
0/ 100 = 0% |
10 33ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ffm-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.245.102]
0/ 100 = 0% |
11 34ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ffm-b10-link.telia.net [80.91.247.187]

Trace complete.


For Vent:

Tracing route to v40.darkstarllc.com [82.103.131.161]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
0 Crimson-NB.cable.virginmedia.net [192.168.0.113]
1 cpc2-colc6-2-0-gw.7-4.cable.virginmedia.com [80.7.84.1]
2 colc-core-1a-ge-015-2095.network.virginmedia.net [213.107.225.57]
3 popl-bb-1a-xe-701-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.57]
4 brnt-bb-1b-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.81.238]
5 brnt-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.50]
6 telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.74]
7 ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.97]
8 ldn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.249.177]
9 hbg-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.245.65]
10 kbn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.247.227]
11 kbn-b3-link.telia.net [80.91.246.255]
12 kbn-horsk-i1-link.telia.net [80.91.249.194]
13 149.6.136.84
14 149.6.136.82
15 v40.darkstarllc.com [82.103.131.161]

Computing statistics for 375 seconds...
Source to Here This Node/Link
Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
0 Crimson-NB.cable.virginmedia.net [192.168.0.113]
0/ 100 = 0% |
1 10ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% cpc2-colc6-2-0-gw.7-4.cable.virginmedia.com [80.7.84.1]
0/ 100 = 0% |
2 10ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% colc-core-1a-ge-015-2095.network.virginmedia.net [213.107.225.57]
0/ 100 = 0% |
3 13ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% popl-bb-1a-xe-701-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.57]
0/ 100 = 0% |
4 12ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% brnt-bb-1b-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.81.238]
0/ 100 = 0% |
5 12ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% brnt-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.50]
0/ 100 = 0% |
6 12ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.74]
0/ 100 = 0% |
7 18ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.97]
0/ 100 = 0% |
8 15ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% ldn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.249.177]
0/ 100 = 0% |
9 32ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% hbg-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.245.65]
0/ 100 = 0% |
10 36ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% kbn-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.247.227]
0/ 100 = 0% |
11 35ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% kbn-b3-link.telia.net [80.91.246.255]
0/ 100 = 0% |
12 34ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% kbn-horsk-i1-link.telia.net [80.91.249.194]
0/ 100 = 0% |
13 42ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 149.6.136.84
0/ 100 = 0% |
14 44ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 149.6.136.82
0/ 100 = 0% |
15 37ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% v40.darkstarllc.com [82.103.131.161]

Trace complete.
CrimsonDrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:29 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

do you run any netlimiter/bandwidth shaping programs?

any torrent type programs?

is QoS enabled in the network properties?

is this type software installed?

[FONT=Verdana]Cyberlink Powercinema or PowerDVD[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana]Vent lockup or lag[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][URL]http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=37949[/URL][/FONT]

do you have a Bigfoot Killer network card installed?

did you make any registry adjustments for the network? ie: disabling Nagle's algorithm

overclocking/underclocking CPU or GPU

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 12-06-2010 at 07:32 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:07 PM   #5
CrimsonDrake
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I do not run any netlimiter programs, however Virgin Media does have a traffic management policy. This should only affect p2p though:

"We also moderate the total volume of file sharing traffic on our network between 5pm and midnight on weekdays and midday and midnight on weekends. This policy is restricted to Peer to Peer (“P2P”) applications and Newsgroups (which are commonly used to distribute large amounts of data) This policy does not impact any applications other than Peer to Peer and Newsgroups, so things like watching iPlayer, online gaming, making calls via Skype, downloading music tracks from iTunes or streaming them from Spotify and sending an email or normal browsing are unaffected."


I occasionally make use of torrent programs, but not while on Vent/WoW of course (and yes, I make sure they are not running in the background).


I have previously disabled QoS while troubleshooting the problem, it occurs with and without the service activated.


I do not use Powercinema or PowerDVD.


I do not experience any lag or lockup, only instant disconnects as described in my first post.


I do not have a Bigfoot Killer network card, on-board Intel for wifi (which I don't use) and a Realtek.


I haven't made any registry adjustments that I know of, except for modifying connection speed/type to 100mbs full duplex as advised by wow tech support (not sure if that's what you mean), can you elaborate?


I haven't done any overclocking on my laptop as I don't use it for anything particularly demanding in terms of performance.

PS: I know looking for patterns in randomness is tempting and usually misleading but I'm inclined to say that I get DC'd on Vent more often (but definitely not only) when on WoW. Like I said before they both DC with identical symptoms on their own (WoW very often actually) and never right at the same time but Vent seems to do it more often when I'm also connected to WoW and unless I'm grasping at straws I think they DC in close succession more often than not.

Last edited by CrimsonDrake; 12-07-2010 at 04:42 PM.
CrimsonDrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:07 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

i don't want to jump to conclusions but we've seen some ISP's implement packet-shaping and have it interfere with vent.

the problem might also be caused by telia.net as both vent and wow are routed thru them.

try this in vent setup/misc tab, set 'process priority=high'

if possible, try using vent and wow before midday on the weekend.

are you connected to the router via wireless or ethernet cable?

i also suggest checking the router for a firmware update, or just reinstalling the current version

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 12-07-2010 at 07:13 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:29 AM   #7
honathina
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Default

i am having the exact same problem as you and it is doing my head in because i am clueless as to what to do, i have tried everything
honathina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:40 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,459
Default

@ honathina

can you post the following plz:

[FONT=Verdana]start > run[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]cmd {hit enter}[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

[/FONT]

[FONT=Verdana](example: tracert frost.pure-voice.net )[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]when the disconnect happens also perform a bandwidth test: [URL="http://www.speedtest.net"]www.speedtest.net[/URL][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana][/FONT]
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.