Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2007, 03:43 AM   #1
Charest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default No external Connections

well i have most problems as many.

but i can connect internally from the same machine (127.0.0.1)
i can connect from my local subnet (192.168.1.1..)
i can connect from my local subnet (different computer in my home network) using my external IP.



You can see my external ip in the upper right corner, i have a linksys router with DD-WRT firmware.

i am good with computers, so i can kinda pissed that i cant figure this out on my own, maybe you can help...



So i dont know what is going wrong and why i am getting only two incoming connections. i have tried the Intf = to my external, null, and what is shown, and nothing. tried all settings with the vent status page and nothing worked.

If you can think of anything else to try please let me know!! thanks
Charest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 05:51 AM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

what IP did the other computer on your lan use to connect?
I am assuming you saved all your changes and exited the router configuration before testing external connections?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Your setup looks correct. Are you trying to connect to your external address from the inside? That usually won't work and is not an error.

Try [url]www.ventrilo.com/status.php[/url]. If that works, you're good to go. If not, double-check that there's not a hardware or software firewall in the way. If that's not the case, then I'd start looking at upgrading router firmware because your setup appears correct.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:21 PM   #4
Charest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

what IP did the other computer on your lan use to connect?

my internal ip and our external ip, both worked. ppl outside my lan can get in...


I am assuming you saved all your changes and exited the router configuration before testing external connections?

saved yes, no need to exit the browser after saving changes.

---------------------------------------

Router firmware is the latest, no software firewall enabled.

hardware, well thats the NAT part of the router.



the problem would seem to me to be at the router, i installed the server oin multiple machines and nothing.

you guys know why i only have 2 accepting connections?
Charest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:36 PM   #5
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Try connecting the server machine directly to the Internet, bypassing the router. If you get 8 sessions, then you know the problem is the router and should contact their tech support.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:37 PM   #6
Ur-Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 327
Default

If you are referring to the ventrilo server output which says "Accepting connecntions on these interfaces" that is a list of all the available network devices through which connections can be accepted. It is very common for you to have only 2 devices (one being your ethernet adapter, denoted by its IP address, and the second being the internal loopback interface, denoted by 127.0.0.1). But the good part is, you can have multiple connects through each one so you aren't limited to just 2 clients as well.
Ur-Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 12:59 PM   #7
Charest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ur-Jack View Post
If you are referring to the ventrilo server output which says "Accepting connecntions on these interfaces" that is a list of all the available network devices through which connections can be accepted. It is very common for you to have only 2 devices (one being your ethernet adapter, denoted by its IP address, and the second being the internal loopback interface, denoted by 127.0.0.1). But the good part is, you can have multiple connects through each one so you aren't limited to just 2 clients as well.
yeah i knew that but was just wondering if it was normal to show that thanks
Charest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.