Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2007, 06:31 PM   #1
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default Weird Problem with Ventrilo...

I've been using Ventrilo for about a year now, and has worked fine until recently. Starting about a week and a half ago I've been having an odd problem where people can hear me fine and real time, but they lag. I won't hear anything from them for about a minute or two, and then I'll hear everything back to back. I've tried everything I know to fix the problem, all to no avail. Please help.

If it helps any I play WoW while using vent, and I use client 2.3.0.
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 08:48 PM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

sounds like network congestion
tracert to the server when the problem is occurring.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 11:12 PM   #3
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Ok... waited for it to do it again and ran tracert... this is what I got

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Thomas Allen Handley>tracert ga1.ugt-servers.com
Tracing route to ga1.ugt-servers.com [64.22.83.74]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 10 ms 8 ms * CPE-76-177-216-1.natsoe.res.rr.com [76.177.216.1
]
3 9 ms 9 ms * 67.22.123.117
4 26 ms 27 ms * 67.22.123.121
5 26 ms 25 ms * 66.109.14.221
6 28 ms 25 ms * 66.109.1.197
7 48 ms 49 ms * 66.109.0.17
8 45 ms 44 ms * 66.109.3.78
9 49 ms 45 ms * ge3-0.cr02.dal01.pccwbtn.net [206.223.118.48]
10 57 ms 56 ms 55 ms gnax.ge2-3.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net [63.216.31.158
]
11 57 ms * 57 ms 65.254.43.35
12 57 ms 58 ms 58 ms atl-core-a-gi3-1.gnax.net [63.247.69.177]
13 58 ms 57 ms 57 ms 209.51.137.34
14 57 ms 57 ms 55 ms 64.22.83.74
Trace complete.
C:\Documents and Settings\Thomas Allen Handley>
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 12:36 PM   #4
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Anything? Anyone know what it could be?
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 12:48 PM   #5
Ur-Jack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 327
Default

From first impression, you are experiencing instability throughout the majority of your route to Ventrilo server. Have done a quick reverse whois lookup on some of those unresolved IP's and found out that the 67.22.xx.xx's are Comcast and the 66.109.xx.xx's are Road Runner/Adelphia. I assume your ISP is either one of these or a reseller of; so I'd suggest you give a copy of this traceroute to their customer service department and see if they have anything to say about it.

Last edited by Ur-Jack; 02-06-2007 at 12:57 PM.
Ur-Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 05:47 PM   #6
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry for the late reply, but I have done this several times with them and they said they don't know what could be causing it (my provider is RR). I even asked if they had some form of packet shaping software or anything like that that could mess with my vent, and they said they didn't. Also, this problem only seems to happen on this one server, and I'm the only one on the server that has the problem... Any help is appreciated.
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 07:12 AM   #7
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

could be related to your specific route to this server.
what does a tracert look like when the problem is occurring?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 06:02 PM   #8
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Latest tracert I got showed the following:


traceroute to ga1.ugt-servers.com (24.28.193.6), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 auto-prov.rr.com (76.177.216.1) 9.522 ms 9.412 ms 7.986 ms
2 * auto-prov.rr.com (67.22.123.117) 10.482 ms 7.909 ms
3 auto-prov.rr.com (67.22.123.121) 25.510 ms 28.809 ms *
4 auto-prov.rr.com (66.109.14.221) 26.911 ms 41.745 ms 47.171 ms
5 * auto-prov.rr.com (66.109.1.197) 30.226 ms 27.030 ms
6 auto-prov.rr.com (66.109.0.17) 46.382 ms 56.695 ms 45.879 ms
7 * auto-prov.rr.com (66.109.3.78) 45.009 ms 45.341 ms
8 auto-prov.rr.com (4.78.61.5) 46.141 ms auto-prov.rr.com (4.78.61.9) 47.367 ms auto-prov.rr.com (4.78.61.1) 67.300 ms
9 auto-prov.rr.com (4.68.122.33) 59.177 ms 118.564 ms 44.356 ms
10 auto-prov.rr.com (4.68.128.210) 80.910 ms auto-prov.rr.com (4.68.128.201) 77.866 ms 79.170 ms
11 auto-prov.rr.com (64.159.3.66) 78.270 ms 81.871 ms auto-prov.rr.com (64.159.3.62) 80.165 ms
12 auto-prov.rr.com (66.185.140.253) 79.172 ms 78.871 ms 86.504 ms
13 auto-prov.rr.com (66.185.151.150) 79.567 ms 81.857 ms 88.957 ms
14 auto-prov.rr.com (66.185.144.195) 83.489 ms 77.257 ms 78.855 ms
15 auto-prov.rr.com (66.185.134.182) 81.517 ms 79.919 ms 80.012 ms
16 auto-prov.rr.com (24.30.192.194) 78.799 ms 79.020 ms *
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.


I'm at my wit's end with this... I really need help on how to fix this. I do have a question though, could it be doing this because I have a static IP on my connection? I've forwarded everything properly, according to portfoward.com, and it's still not working... I'm about to pull my hair out document.write("");
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 11:07 AM   #9
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

the client does not require port forwarding
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 02:57 PM   #10
TheAngryBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Well do you have any clue as to what is causing this? I've tried everything I know from Fowarding ports, reinstalling vent, formatting and reinstalling windows, contacting my isp, everything and nothing has worked... I'm really at my wit's end with it.

I'm sick of it working fine for a bit, then my ping jumping up to some 5k and getting lag...
TheAngryBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.