Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Everything seems to be blank (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=3779983)

innerseek 09-22-2015 01:32 PM

Everything seems to be blank
 
Hello! I am not the most computer savvy person so forgive me if my description is lacking. I haven't used Ventrillo in many months and when I try to start the program the bellow screenshot is all I get. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling several times, I did a factory reset on my router and made sure it was up to date, ran the program as admin., and also made sure my firewall was turned off to see if that was causing any problems. After the uninstall I tried to find any folders left behind if some old settings were throwing everything off. Any help is really appreciated.

http://imgur.com/CPjMtYS

Prog-Rocker 09-22-2015 05:35 PM

after connecting do you see the server name in the white area of the window?

rt-clik in the window > server admin > user editor > display tab > are any boxes checked
(if all boxes are unchecked then you need to contact a server admin to change your permissions)

then try this test:

Booting Into Safe-Mode

[url]http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Advanced-startup-options-including-safe-mode[/url]

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.

innerseek 09-30-2015 09:31 PM

Thanks for your reply. I tried booting in safe mode and have the same results. Below is a screen shot of the safe mode boot. As you can see, in both modes when I right click on the server admin option all of those options are greyed/locked out.
[URL="http://imgur.com/QLR5FrO"]http://imgur.com/QLR5FrO[/URL]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 4216054)
after connecting do you see the server name in the white area of the window?

rt-clik in the window > server admin > user editor > display tab > are any boxes checked
(if all boxes are unchecked then you need to contact a server admin to change your permissions)

then try this test:

Booting Into Safe-Mode

[url]http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Advanced-startup-options-including-safe-mode[/url]

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.

Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connection.


ElleHarries 10-01-2015 11:43 PM

I have the same problem. I've tried to find any folders left behind if some old settings were throwing everything off.

Prog-Rocker 10-02-2015 09:06 AM

first try disabling all firewall/AV/spyware/malware apps. check the windows taskmanager for any previous apps of the same type that might still be running. some of those apps don't uninstall completely unless you use their uninstall program.

then try this:

netsh winsock reset all

Open an elevated command prompt.

Windows 7 - click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as Administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a
confirmation, type the password, or click Allow/Continue.

Windows 8/10 - right-click Start icon, select 'Command Prompt (Admin)'

Type in the following command:

netsh winsock reset all

(Info: Most of the Internet connectivity problems arise out of corrupt Winsock settings. Windows sockets settings may get corrupted due to the installation of networking software, or perhaps due to a malware infestation. You will be able connect to the Internet, but the packets won't transfer back and forth. And errors such as "Page Cannot Be Displayed" may occur when using a browser.)
----------------

are you running any VPN type programs? proxy services connections?

innerseek 10-03-2015 12:30 PM

I went through all the recommendations below but I am still having the same result unfortunately. I do have a VPN service but only run it at select times and made sure it is not running when I try to use vent. Is there anything else I can check?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 4216755)
first try disabling all firewall/AV/spyware/malware apps. check the windows taskmanager for any previous apps of the same type that might still be running. some of those apps don't uninstall completely unless you use their uninstall program.

then try this:

netsh winsock reset all

Open an elevated command prompt.

Windows 7 - click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as Administrator. If you are prompted for an administrator password or for a
confirmation, type the password, or click Allow/Continue.

Windows 8/10 - right-click Start icon, select 'Command Prompt (Admin)'

Type in the following command:

netsh winsock reset all

(Info: Most of the Internet connectivity problems arise out of corrupt Winsock settings. Windows sockets settings may get corrupted due to the installation of networking software, or perhaps due to a malware infestation. You will be able connect to the Internet, but the packets won't transfer back and forth. And errors such as "Page Cannot Be Displayed" may occur when using a browser.)
----------------

are you running any VPN type programs? proxy services connections?



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.