Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Server (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Server not responding (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=46587)

LyonRFe 03-04-2011 07:06 AM

Server not responding
 
Hi guys,

Was wondering if anybody is able to help me with a problem...

We have a ventrilo server for a game. But since 3 days ago it went down....
It simply does not wanna connect to the server. I tried the "Status" check on ventrilo.com and it does not give me anything useful, just tells me:

" Ventrilo server is not responding " (red bar around it)


Any ideas what this could be or any possible fixes?

Prog-Rocker 03-04-2011 01:34 PM

send me a PM with the hostname and port#, i will check into it.

has the server owner tried contacting the hosting company?

Frank Fournier 03-13-2011 01:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LyonRFe (Post 160837)
We have a ventrilo server for a game. But since 3 days ago it went down....
It simply does not wanna connect to the server. I tried the "Status" check on ventrilo.com and it does not give me anything useful, just tells me:

" Ventrilo server is not responding " (red bar around it)


Any ideas what this could be or any possible fixes?

Same problem here. Last week my server was working like usual for a game (City of Heroes) for months. Today it's not responding, after not changing a thing anywhere.

Hostname: 192.168.1.64
Port #: 3784

Prog-Rocker 03-13-2011 10:31 AM

try temp disabling all firewall/virus apps

also power-cycle your modem/router

the status page should be able to see your server

[URL]http://ventrilo.com/status.php[/URL]

Frank Fournier 03-15-2011 02:02 PM

It's working again, thanks!

Frank Fournier 04-17-2011 08:36 PM

Same problem than last time.

This time, power-cycling my modem/router does nothing.

The status page is saying: "Private network 192.168.x.x is not valid. ..." and "MSG: Contacting server" on Ventrilo itself.

Prog-Rocker 04-18-2011 11:11 AM

first, you need to use your external ipaddress in the status page.

[FONT=Verdana]Testing Local Connection[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]For PC’s connecting on the same LAN as the server:[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]If you’re connecting the client from a different PC than the server then configure the client to use one of the internal ipaddresses of the server for the servername. The LAN ipaddress is typically set to 192.168.x.x[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]If you’re running the client on the same PC as the server then configure the client to use 127.0.0.1 or “localhost” as the Hostname (ipaddress).[/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana]Most home routers will not loopback a connection if you specify your external ipaddress or DNS hostname in the Ventrilo Client > Server setup. [/FONT][FONT=Verdana]In most cases this configuration has caused unexpected problems.[/FONT][FONT=Verdana][/FONT]
[FONT=Verdana] [/FONT]

Frank Fournier 04-19-2011 01:59 AM

Thanks. My server is available with 127.0.0.1 now. :)

Frank Fournier 05-01-2011 08:16 PM

I'm connected to my server but it looks like others can't get connected to it. What should I do?

I'm checking my Status and it's saying: Lookback network 127.x.x.x is not valid '127.0.0.1'. ...even if I'm connected.

I'm also able to connected with 192.168.1.65 but others can't, and my Status is saying: Private network 192.169.x.x is not valid '192.168.1.65'.

Prog-Rocker 05-02-2011 09:31 AM

the status page and external users need to use your WAN ipaddress:

[URL]http://www.ventrilo.com/myip.php[/URL]

Frank Fournier 05-02-2011 01:06 PM

When I give my WAN address to Status it says: " Ventrilo server is not responding " (red bar around it)
and the external users can't connect to my server, even if I'm connected to it.

Prog-Rocker 05-02-2011 02:07 PM

make sure the portforwarding ipaddress matches your vent servers address.

try power-cycling the router

Frank Fournier 05-02-2011 04:53 PM

It's working for external users again after power-cycling the router. Very strange. Thanks.

Frank Fournier 05-05-2011 09:06 PM

Now it's not working again. :mad: I was forced to power-cycling the router again to make it working.

Prog-Rocker 05-06-2011 05:35 PM

well, couple possibilities here:

1. the router has a minor problem which forces you to reset it all the time

2. your ISP is making changes on the back end forcing you to re-sync the router.

3. your local LAN card in the pc has a problem which is getting re-synced when you reset the router.

neither the vent server or client make any changes to network settings.

is the vent server connected to the router using wireless or a lan cable?

Frank Fournier 05-06-2011 08:23 PM

a lan cable

Raven2099 10-26-2014 05:58 PM

same issue Ventrilo server is not responding.

24.186.224.68 port 3748 ports are correct and firewall is set to allow

re-powering did nothing so i flushed my dns and ip
now on 24.47.37.224 (or LegionOfHeroes.ddns.net) port 3748 it works fine

Prog-Rocker 10-26-2014 06:05 PM

@ raven

pls verify the server ipaddress and port# as the server does not even respond to the status page. I suspect you have the wrong port#

[url]http://ventrilo.com/status.php[/url]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.