Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Unable to connect to locally hosted server using Dynamic DNS or outside IP with 2wire (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=46224)

tgp1994 01-26-2011 08:12 PM

Unable to connect to locally hosted server using Dynamic DNS or outside IP with 2wire
 
Hello everyone.

I've been running a linux server for a long time on my Ubuntu box. Regarding outside connection, I used to have Comcast Cable, with the cable modem, and then a Linksys Router (Loved it with DD-WRT). Notice how I'm using the past tense here though? :P We recently switched to AT&T U-verse, thus changing our network topology to using just a 2wire 3801HGV Residential Gateway. I was fine with that, it seemed relatively stable and fast. However, I've just never liked 2wire's method for port forwarding.

None the less, I realized that after we started using that modem, I could no longer locally connect using either my Dynamic DNS (which I assure you is updated), or by using my outside IP address. This would almost certainly seem to indicate an issue with my configuration of the 2wire router, although I'm not quite sure what. I can of course ping the host of the ventrilo server, and the port for the ventrilo server is open (users not on my network can connect fine).

Does anyone else happen to have a 2wire based network device that has experienced similar issues, and knows/may know how to fix this?

Many thanks in advance.

mjgraf 01-26-2011 08:59 PM

if you are running the server on your local network, then connect using the internal IP.

tgp1994 01-26-2011 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjgraf (Post 159860)
if you are running the server on your local network, then connect using the internal IP.

True, I could do that, although when I make the profile, I'd like to leave it there as my dynamic DNS address, so in the future, if I'm ever out and about, I don't have to lookup my home's current IP, then enter that. After all, that's one primary reason for using a dynamic DNS :)

There also seems to be something clearly wrong with my configuration, so I think it's best if I fix it... somehow.

Prog-Rocker 01-27-2011 09:33 AM

the problem is with the router. most home routers don't know how to handle using your DNS or WAN ipaddress to loopback into your local LAN.

you can also configure the client to have multiple server ipaddresses associated with the same profile. just give them different names for the DNS or WAN ipaddress.

tgp1994 01-27-2011 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 159867)
the problem is with the router

I kind of figured that already.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 159867)
most home routers don't know how to handle using your DNS or WAN ipaddress to loopback into your local LAN.

I would think most do, actually. The DDNS should return my home's IP, which either way should directly go into my ventrillo server once I provide the port.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker (Post 159867)
you can also configure the client to have multiple server ipaddresses associated with the same profile. just give them different names for the DNS or WAN ipaddress.

Ya, I suppose I could also do that... are you sure there isn't just a setting I can change on my Residential Gateway?

tgp1994 01-29-2011 01:01 AM

Anyone at all?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.