Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Wont reconnect to server after timeout, have to quit Ventrilo and restart (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=4555807)

Raines 11-08-2020 09:42 PM

Wont reconnect to server after timeout, have to quit Ventrilo and restart
 
So typically when I get DC'd from a server for a quick timeout or something, it does the 10 second countdown and reconnects.

However, as of the last couple of weeks it just hangs on "Contacting Server". If I click disconnect, and reconnect again, same thing, just says "Contacting Server." I have to close down ventrilo completely and re-open it in order to reconnect to the server.

I know this isn't a problem with the server. Others are reconnected when they get timed out or lose connection. I think it might be a router issue, since it happens to all of my PCs in my house. But it works fine on my laptop when I am out.

I'm on Xfinity gigabit service, with the newest XB7 Gateway. I've done a handful of reboots, but hasn't fixed the issue, and I'm not sure what, if any settings might need to be adjusted.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Prog-Rocker 11-18-2020 10:44 AM

have you tried resetting your modem/router?

also try this test:

Perform a traceroute to the server. The traceroute will display all the nodes the network packets flow through to get to the server. 3 columns show the number of milliseconds (ms) it took to reach that node. Look for any unusually large numbers when compared to complete trace. (note: an asterisk (*) in place of time indicates a time-out for the response)

Right-click the Windows Start button
Command Prompt {hit enter}
tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

(example: tracert support.ventrilo.com )

try the telnet test:

start > run
cmd {hit enter}
telnet serverhostname port#

(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If Telnet is able to connect then the screen will go blank. If not, then you will see an error message about not being able to connect.

Enabling Telnet in Vista/Windows 7 / 8 / 10

Control-Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off / select “Telnet Client” / click OK

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#. if you've eliminated all possibilities with your internal network then try contacting your ISP and have them try to telnet to the server to see if they can connect from their end.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.