Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Robotic Static Sounds (Still Present in OS 10.6.0 - Please Help!) (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=38903)

Bethany 08-29-2009 02:26 AM

Robotic Static Sounds (Still Present in OS 10.6.0 - Please Help!)
 
I would like to start by stating the obvious, that I am a new user of this Forum. If this post is breaking any sort of rule, I am very sorry and that was not my intent. I'm just at a loss of what to do at this point as this issue has been an ongoing one spanning several months. I considered posting in the [URL="http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37302"]original thread[/URL], but feel that after all this time it should be given more attention instead of getting lost at the end of a several month old thread.

As many of the other Tech Support Forum users have posted in this [URL="http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37302"]original thread[/URL], this issue seems to be a problem with no rhyme or reason as to what's the cause. Changing headsets does not help, changing settings does not help, re-installing does not help.

This all started with the Firmware upgrade 10.5.6 for OS X. The issue is that after a certain amount of time passes, vent goes crazy and voice input turns all robotic and only a restart will fix the issue. With each passing update, 10.5.7, 10.5.8, and now even 10.6.0, myself and others have hoped for a solution to this problem but to no avail.

Some of you may say this is a minor inconvenience and that myself and others affected should just live with it. I however would disagree in that while yes, the current restart remedy is effective; I should not have to do that at all. Some thing, some where changed from the jump from 10.5.5 to 10.5.6. This change effects some but not all Macs, and there is no as of yet apparent reasoning why some are and are not effected.

What I am simply asking, is that could someone like Flagship please look into this or know someone high enough to escalate this inside Apple? I know Mac users are only a tiny fraction of the overall Vent user base, but we are here, and we love using this product as much as we love using our Macs.

If this is going to fall on blind eyes and deaf ears, I guess myself and the other members who have this issue will keep on going as we have been. I really hope that this will not be the case though, and that some progress can be made.

Sincerely,
Bethany

My MacBook Pro's Stats if it helps at all.
Purchased New 04/15/08
OS Version: 10.6.0 Build 10A432
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP41.00C1.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.28f2

Feisty 08-29-2009 12:08 PM

So Ventrilo does work in 10.6? Some guy posted earlier that it didn't. Knowing at least it works, albeit with the same stupid robotic voice problem, is good to know.

I too am getting really frustrated with having to reboot Ventrilo every 20 minutes after my raid yells "Robot" in the middle of me saying something important. I have 2 other Mac using friends with headsets that run the same versions as me without this problem. I have tried downgrading vent with no success in solving it. I was hoping 10.6 would fix it but it seems it doesn't. An update on whether or not people are looking into the cause of this would be helpful - I have run out of solutions to try and sometimes don't even log on to vent because I don't want to keep having to wonder if I'm irritating my friends with sudden bouts of robot static.

wadesworld 08-29-2009 02:47 PM

Quote:

Some thing, some where changed from the jump from 10.5.5 to 10.5.6. This change effects some but not all Macs, and there is no as of yet apparent reasoning why some are and are not effected.
Report it as a bug to Apple. The more people report it, the more they'll look at it.

sriggins 09-01-2009 12:52 PM

I've been seeing this also, and have opened a radar bug report with Apple

wadesworld 09-02-2009 12:42 PM

The more bug reports the better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.