Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   20,000 Pings (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=24405)

McRIot 11-26-2007 12:29 AM

20,000 Pings
 
Is anyone else getting insanely high pings. I can hear everyone just fine but they can't hear me, when they do hear me it's a flooded mess of stuff I've said over the last hour. Sometimes I can't even connect to Vent without multiple retries and other days it connects fine with a stable ping for awhile. I am getting real frustrated with this crap. Never used to happen, at least one friend that I know of is having exactly the same problem. Is this a problem with the new Vent release?

bouchy73 11-26-2007 12:57 AM

it's stupidly amazing when you think about it. we are there loyal users and this problem has been going on since they released and all they do is ask us the same questions and get the same results. your net is fine it's just the program which they have yet to admit. although when they do either figure it out or fix the program...hell you know what this should be stickied just so we can all see how many people have this problem.

mjgraf 11-26-2007 09:10 PM

I have yet to encounter this problem and we stream for days.

there has been talk about the QoS in the network drivers.
also, please provide a tracert to the server when the problem is occurring.
what is the server codec and format?

as an additional step, shut your computer down.
reboot (power cycle your router/modem)
restart your computer.

McRIot 11-27-2007 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mjgraf (Post 93988)
I have yet to encounter this problem and we stream for days.

there has been talk about the QoS in the network drivers.
also, please provide a tracert to the server when the problem is occurring.
what is the server codec and format?

as an additional step, shut your computer down.
reboot (power cycle your router/modem)
restart your computer.

This isn't just one server that this is happening on. However for the server I regular on I did a tracert just for you guys as it was happening. As far as codec and format I don't know exactly but if I were to make an educated guess I would say they are using whatever the defaults are. Like I said it's not just this server I am having problems with. I also have a NuclearFallout (Seattle) Vent server that I know is running default settings and the same problem occurs. I can continue to list off the servers but that seems pointless. I have tested Vent on the same computer under XP Pro and Vista Ultimate, disabled all firewalls even tested it on a separate rig. I have concluded it's the vent program that is the problem. Teamspeak works fine, games work fine, HL2/TF2 Voice works fine. Vent 3.0.1 is broken!

Quote:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

Tracing route to kajo.ventrilo.org [209.247.212.52]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 28 ms 1 ms 2 ms 192.168.1.1
2 26 ms 29 ms 29 ms 70.71.128.1
3 30 ms 29 ms 29 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms rc1bb-ge5-0-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.105]
5 34 ms 29 ms 29 ms rc1wt-pos4-0-0.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.76.126]

6 31 ms 35 ms 29 ms te-3-4.car3.Seattle1.Level3.net [4.71.152.25]
7 38 ms 35 ms 35 ms ae-31-55.ebr1.Seattle1.Level3.net [4.68.105.158]

8 59 ms 77 ms 48 ms ae-3.ebr1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.132.49]
9 100 ms 51 ms 49 ms ae-71-71.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.134.198]

10 49 ms 48 ms 47 ms ae-21-79.car1.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.67]
11 48 ms 47 ms 48 ms ge-1-0-27.cr1.snv.divo.net [4.79.217.163]
12 48 ms 47 ms 48 ms 209.247.212.52.ip.divo.net [209.247.212.52]

Trace complete.


thorg23 11-27-2007 06:53 PM

shot in the dark mcriot are you in the uk and are you on virgin adsl?

McRIot 11-27-2007 07:06 PM

Canada, BC, Cloverdale

and I'm on Shaw.

as is my friend who lives in Langley BC. (having the same problems)

The servers we connect to are in the U.S.

McRIot 11-27-2007 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CanadianTarget (Post 94242)
You're both about 10 minutes drive from me then... I'm in Surrey, BC.

I have a buddy in Langley, also on Shaw, who isn't having any problems.

The ISP packet hypothesis is getting stronger and stronger, though. Are there any users out there having problems that *aren't* on Virgin ADSL UK or Shaw Cable Canada? (We all seem to be close to Vancouver at that)

Feel free to join my Vent Server (see my previous post "Proof it's happening"). I'm curious if the problems are internal to Shaw or if they're higher up the net stack.


I'm Kisst on your Vent, having the same problem.

McRIot 11-27-2007 08:02 PM

VISTA (Connected to CanadianTarget Vent)
Quote:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

ping 24.82.37.201

Pinging 24.82.37.201 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 24.82.37.201: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=60
Reply from 24.82.37.201: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=60
Reply from 24.82.37.201: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=60
Reply from 24.82.37.201: bytes=32 time=115ms TTL=60

Ping statistics for 24.82.37.201:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 115ms, Average = 69ms

tracert 24.82.37.201

Tracing route to 24.82.37.201 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 30 ms 28 ms 35 ms 70.71.128.1
3 28 ms 29 ms 36 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms dx2fl-g1.vs.shawcable.net [64.59.159.170]
5 89 ms 68 ms 109 ms 24.82.37.201

Trace complete.

tracert 24.82.37.201

Tracing route to 24.82.37.201 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 25 ms 29 ms 28 ms 70.71.128.1
3 30 ms 29 ms 28 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 28 ms 29 ms 29 ms dx2fl-g1.vs.shawcable.net [64.59.159.170]
5 43 ms 74 ms 70 ms 24.82.37.201

Trace complete.

tracert 24.82.37.201

Tracing route to 24.82.37.201 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 25 ms 28 ms 31 ms 70.71.128.1
3 26 ms 29 ms 31 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 29 ms 28 ms 35 ms dx2fl-g1.vs.shawcable.net [64.59.159.170]
5 75 ms 49 ms 38 ms 24.82.37.201

Trace complete.

tracert 24.82.37.201

McRIot 11-27-2007 08:05 PM

XP Pro 2nd Machine (Connected to CanadianTarget Vent)

Quote:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

tracert 24.82.37.201

Tracing route to 24.82.37.201 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 27 ms 29 ms 31 ms 70.71.128.1
3 29 ms 30 ms 29 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 28 ms 28 ms 30 ms dx2fl-g1.vs.shawcable.net [64.59.159.170]
5 37 ms 38 ms 32 ms 24.82.37.201

Trace complete.

tracert 24.82.37.201

Tracing route to 24.82.37.201 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 54 ms 23 ms 23 ms 70.71.128.1
3 29 ms 30 ms 29 ms rd1bb-ge5-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

4 27 ms 29 ms 30 ms dx2fl-g1.vs.shawcable.net [64.59.159.170]
5 47 ms 33 ms 34 ms 24.82.37.201

Trace complete.

McRIot 12-04-2007 03:04 PM

Any further developments on this issue? It's not getting any better over here. :(

Burton90 12-04-2007 03:19 PM

All signs are pointing to Shaw being the problem, but every time i've phoned I have recieved the same response. They say their service is functioning fine and nothing on their network should be causing any issues.

The only way I see them taking the issue more seriously is by continuing to phone and email. Shaw's Vancouver help email is [email]van.help@sjrb.ca[/email]

McRIot 12-19-2007 02:02 AM

This is still a major problem. Is anything being done to fix this. going on two months now.

Recognize 12-19-2007 02:07 PM

I'm having the same issue and am in Langly, BC. The old Vent worked fine for me. This point release doesnt work. I am fine when I connect to a vent server but when I PTT and send my voice it jumps the ping to 400-20,000.
This is foolish. I've searched the net for a fix but I can't find one. Is it the isp?

Recognize 12-19-2007 07:17 PM

Also weird to know that I can hear everyone else fine. No lag on the download of others voices. Just my upload. I tested it with a friend and it my sentance had a 4 min delay on it. The ping was 9000 so that makes sence I guess. Whats the issue?

I'll be bumping this topic untill I find out what the issue is.

Recognize 12-20-2007 01:17 PM

Tech support!!!

Recognize 12-20-2007 08:51 PM

Just a quick bump.

Burton90 12-20-2007 10:01 PM

This apparently is a problem to which there is no solution. ISP says everything is fine, check with software provider. Software provider says it is an ISP issue...

Recognize 12-20-2007 11:28 PM

I'd hate to think its Shaw Cable. This is the best company I've ever used for internet. 24 hour phone lines for tech support. Good connections that never go down or even flicker. I talked to Shaw and they said that they dont packet shape or anything.

the last vent worked fine and with this Vent all I'm seeing are issues with it. I rent two vent servers and cannot use them since the new patch.

Recognize 12-21-2007 01:31 AM

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r...capture1-1.jpg


A screen shot of the ping in action.

Recognize 12-21-2007 04:07 PM

http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r...capture2-1.jpg

Aother screenshot this time with a trace route.

Tracing route to 208.99.198.90 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 8 ms 8 ms 6 ms Chris-PC [0.0.0.0]
2 9 ms 22 ms 8 ms rd1bb-ge3-0-0-4.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.178]

3 9 ms 9 ms 11 ms 66.163.69.201
4 12 ms 15 ms 13 ms rc2wt-pos1-0.wa.shawcable.net
[66.163.76.142]
5 11 ms 13 ms 11 ms swiftdesk.com [198.32.180.82]
6 12 ms 13 ms 13 ms 204.8.32.98
7 14 ms 13 ms 21 ms 204.8.32.86
8 12 ms 13 ms 14 ms 208.99.198.90

Trace complete.

Recognize 12-22-2007 01:22 AM

Bump

Recognize 12-22-2007 10:22 AM

K. So. I reinstalled my OS and Vent works now. No lag or high pings.

Did I have a virus?
Did my ISP fix their issue at the same moment I reinstalled?
Did my isp send me updates to limit packets to ports?
Did I mess Vent up and when I uninstalled it and reinstalled it, Vent saved files on reg keys so the issue couldnt be fixed with a simple reinstall?

Who knows. All I know is that it works. I'm with SHAW CABLE in langly BC.
This issue is done.

hilmonkey 12-24-2007 03:56 PM

I live in south Langley, BC as well and I am having some serious problems that are very similar. I have been using vent servers for years with no problems, until 3.0. I use a server with the port 2359 and have zero problems, as soon as I go to another vent server with different port numbers I can hear people with no problems but when I talk I have between 1.5k - 30k pings. Is there any way of testing ports to see what will work? I tried connecting to various Ventrilo servers that friends own, test servers from companies. I have tried the connections behind a router, without a router, on seperate computers on the same internet connection, all with the same results.

Punchcatface 10-29-2008 11:59 PM

Bumping an old thread...came across this searching google for similar problems with shaw customers and extremely high ventrilo broadcast delays and pings.

Linked from here: [url]http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-24811.html[/url]

I also get terrible latency with US side ventrilo servers but don't have any Canadian vent servers to connect to. If someone with the same problem has login info for a Canadian server they'd let me test with them, we could gain some valuable information related to which servers get the latency problems.

Someone said shaw doesn't use packet shaping. For those who don't understand what packet shaping is, look here: [url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traffic_shaping[/url]

Well, going back all the way to 2004 you can find proof shaw uses packet shaping on bittorrent data here: [url]http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/56419[/url]

Quote:

There's a significant number of ISP's exploring and already using the option (companies like Ellacoya are part of a $200 million market), but it's not something they quickly publicize, in order to avoid user complaints and bad PR
Following the link in the middle of the page, we are led to a company named Ellacoya Networks, which has been consumed by Arbor Networks, you can view their client list here: [url]http://www.arbornetworks.com/en/customer-list.html[/url]

Another important article to read from 2006 regarding Shaw's packet shaping of Vonage's VOIP data can be found here: [url]http://www.digitalhome.ca/content/view/1331/51/[/url]

Quote:

The Shaw QoS surcharge was not new and was first announced fifteen months ago by Shaw. Immediately after the QoS surcharge was introduced in March of 2005, accusations of traffic shaping by Shaw began.

...

Digital Home members who contacted Shaw and explained the situation were informed that the only way to ensure their VoIP service would function properly was to sign up for QoS. At the time, the company denied that the sudden diminishment of service and the introduction of QoS service were related.
Edit: Forgot to add this: [url]http://www.muug.mb.ca/pipermail/asterisk/2006-September/000768.html[/url]

Quote:

[url]http://www.shaw.ca/en-ca/ProductsServices/Internet/Internet+Explained/QoSVoIP.htm[/url]

clearly indicates that problem with third party VoIP providers (and VoIP in
general) is of bandwidth contention and packet loss, which can be solved by
purchasing the "Service Enhancement". If the product does nothing to solve
these problems, as is suggested earlier in the thread(s), then it's a clear
case of misrepresentation and not "spin". It would be no different if they
claimed the service cured warts.

nitd_kim 12-17-2008 06:43 PM

i have same problem.

Westell 6100 dsl modem (updated)

WGT624v3 router (updated)

Onboard Realtek ALC883 (updated)

USB microphone by Logitech (No update for it since it works by itself)

I also experience uber delay. I hate it. Vent ping jumps up and but i dont have any lag at all. People hear me like 5 minutes later.

I blame Vent 3.x.x

I have verizon. 3000 kilobit down 600 kilobit up. so i have no problem with upload


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.