Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Macintosh Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Sound unable to work on Vent. (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=1053777)

Elphaba 06-20-2013 01:35 AM

Nope I just installed the .pkg.zip for Vent. It's connected to gsm but to enable testing mode, it says I have to switch it to "none".

fredpeterson543 07-31-2013 04:05 AM

How to install a audio driver?
_________________________

Jaycyn 07-31-2013 03:00 PM

You don't install audio drivers or codecs on the on Mac - speex support is built in.

Set your server to use Speex and your client will auto-configure for it.

Read about it here

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

item #1.

Bangle6 07-24-2014 04:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaycyn (Post 1795238)
You don't install audio drivers or codecs on the on Mac - speex support is built in.

Set your server to use Speex and your client will auto-configure for it.

Read about it here

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

item #1.

I'm having the same issue, my clan uses vent and most of the users are PC players. I represent a very small minority a Mac users within the clan. In an attempt to improve the sound quality, the clan wants to move over to GSM 6.10, but I don't think I can. I'm stuck (and that's not a bad thing Speex)

My question is, is there a work around?

Jaycyn 07-25-2014 12:40 PM

Moving from Speex to GSM may actually lower the sound quality due to increased bandwidth.

You (or the vent account admin) would be better off tweaking the Speex settings on the Vent server to settings if you want better quality.

Please read this
http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590

items #2 and #3 for suggested settings.

All of the setting changes can be made on the Vent server and the clients will auto-adjust so it requires no effort or changes on the users end.

If they insist on GSM, you can use the Linux Vent client or install Windows on your Mac and run the Windows client. All of which are a pain and not really a good solution.

...I just had another thought: Codeweavers makes a product called Crossover, which allows you to run some Windows apps on your Mac without installing Windows. Looks like Ventrilo Windows client has been tested and works. I am unsure as to how the GSM codec is being handled though.

http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibi...me/?app_id=413

(edit: I said most of this in a prior, just saying it again for clarity)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.