Ventrilo Tech Support

Ventrilo Tech Support (http://forum.ventrilo.com/index.php)
-   Windows Client (http://forum.ventrilo.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Ventrilo causing mouse to freeze (http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=3591985)

Prog-Rocker 01-09-2014 10:51 AM

Quote:

DxDiag Previously: Crashed in Direct3D (stage 2). Re-running DxDiag with "dontskip" command line parameter or choosing not to bypass information gathering when prompted might result in DxDiag successfully obtaining this information
this indicates windows directx is having a problem, which might be why starting either wow or vent second is causing a lockup.

the first thing to try is setting the audio device as primary

in the wow audio settings, set specifically to the headset.

Quote:

Description: Speakers (Sirus Headset)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: No

Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: Yes

normally, one of the devices should be set to both 'yes' and the other both 'no'

let's try disabling all the unused audio device and then set the headset as the default

Windows Control-Panel > Sound > Playback & Recording tabs > rt-click in the window and select "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" > rt-click on all unused devices and select "disable"

if you're using only the headset then try disabling all the realtek devices until you get this working properly. if you need the realtek you can enable it later.

reboot then re-run the dxdiag and check on the yes/no settings.

test starting either vent or wow first.

--------------------

also check the radeon driver as the dxdiag didn't report any info on it.

--------------

check with logitech for driver updates on kybd and mouse.

--------------

the dxdiag did not report the brand of pc but the BIOS is dated 2010. you should check the manufacturers website (or motherboard brand) for any BIOS, chipset and driver updates for you particular model.

warriorwolf 01-09-2014 09:09 PM

-Wow audio setting changed, however, I don't play with sound anyways
-Control panel / hardware and sound / manage audio devices - everything disabled except for Sirus
-updated radeon driver
-installed G110 software (in Device Manger under keyboards there are 4 "HID Keyboard Device"
1. location on USB Input Device, details bus 0000006
2. location on USB Input Device, details bus 0000000
3. on Logitech gaming Virtual Keyboard, details bus 0000008
4. location on USB Input Device, details bus 0000004
- no actual driver for Drakonia mouse Device manager lists 1"HID compliant mouse"
1. location on USB Input Device, details bus 0000001

Bio updated for ASUS P8Z68-V Pro to 3402

No joy on mouse freezing

Prog-Rocker 01-11-2014 08:42 AM

ok, let's try this

temp disable all firewall/virus/malware apps then start vent and wow

if it locks up then unplug the headset to see if the mouse starts working.

is the mouse plugged into the pc or the g110?

if it still locks up try using a generic mouse and kybd, just to test.

does the dxdiag show only the headset in the 'sound devices' sections?
are both playback settings set to 'yes'

-----------

another test to try is disable the headset in windows ctrl-panel/sounds (both playback and recording) and enable the realtek speakers and mic

mjgraf 01-31-2014 07:44 PM

i was looking at the number of USB devices connected and I am wondering if this may be a polling or power issue?

In Device Manager go to the USB section at the bottom.
Double click the entries that say Hub and find the ones with Power tab.
Check those and see if that may point to something.

Another idea is as Prog suggested, but my angle would be to reduce the number power hungry devices.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.