Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2005, 05:38 PM   #1
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default Voice "Modulated" Lower?

First off, thanks sooo much for releasing a Mac client! Even in beta it's working quite well for the basics.

The only strange thing is that my voice is coming over as if it's going through some kind of modulation device, making my voice sound lower than normal. I checked this out by running Vent in VirtualPC on my Mac and sure enough, I've got the "Darth Vader" effect.

I'm using an iSight as my mic, codec on the server is Speex (32 KHz, 16 bit, 5 Qlty), switching to 6 Qlty didn't improve things. Any advice is appreciated.
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #2
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

I'm not sure. It's possible the device characterisics reported by the iSight might be confusing Ventrilo. I'll have a friend of mine check to see if he has the same problem with his new iSight.

--Flag
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:52 AM   #3
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

I am also having this problem, but I'm not using iSight.

I'm using a Plantronics USB headset on a 2.7ghz dual proc G5 running OSX 10.4.2.

Everybody says I sound like Big John Coffey from 'The Green Mile' and think I'm 6'9" tall. Which was kinda cool at first and got some laughs when I said "Coffey. Like the drank only spelled dif'rent." and "Gimme yo hand, Boss." But when I used my iMac, I just sounded like the pipsqueak I am, so my secret is out and now it's gettin kinda old.

And no, changing the quality setting for speex doesn't fix it.

btw - I sound normal when using skype on this machine.

Last edited by Calibos; 11-07-2005 at 09:10 AM.
Calibos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 11:59 AM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

I'm sure this is a program problem. Just need to duplicate it first.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:10 PM   #5
PopeZaphod
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Default

FWIW I'm runnign 10.4.3 on a 2ghz dual G5. I've ordered a Logitech 350 headset, so I'll have something else to try it out with eventually.
PopeZaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:16 PM   #6
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Let me know if you still have the same problem.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 07:27 PM   #7
a2daj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I ran into the same problem. I have a Revolution 7.1 audio card and use that sound input with a Logitech headset. I was using the Mac server for testing. When I first got everything set up I had some guildmates join to help test it. After I turned down my sensitivity folks could hear when I spoke, but initially, they said I sounded like a chipmunk. So I opened up Audio MIDI Setup in /Applications/Utilities and changeds the mic input from 22 Hz to 44.1 Hz. I then restarted my Ventrilo client. People said I sounded fine. However, when I went to play with the amplifier, the higher the amplification, the lower my voice played back for everyone. I think people were mistaking me for Bill Brasky.
a2daj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 08:15 PM   #8
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a2daj
I ran into the same problem. I have a Revolution 7.1 audio card and use that sound input with a Logitech headset. I was using the Mac server for testing. When I first got everything set up I had some guildmates join to help test it. After I turned down my sensitivity folks could hear when I spoke, but initially, they said I sounded like a chipmunk. So I opened up Audio MIDI Setup in /Applications/Utilities and changeds the mic input from 22 Hz to 44.1 Hz. I then restarted my Ventrilo client. People said I sounded fine. However, when I went to play with the amplifier, the higher the amplification, the lower my voice played back for everyone. I think people were mistaking me for Bill Brasky.
a2daj, maybe you really are a chipmunk? ;p
halprin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:38 PM   #9
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a2daj
I ran into the same problem. I have a Revolution 7.1 audio card and use that sound input with a Logitech headset. I was using the Mac server for testing. When I first got everything set up I had some guildmates join to help test it. After I turned down my sensitivity folks could hear when I spoke, but initially, they said I sounded like a chipmunk. So I opened up Audio MIDI Setup in /Applications/Utilities and changeds the mic input from 22 Hz to 44.1 Hz. I then restarted my Ventrilo client. People said I sounded fine. However, when I went to play with the amplifier, the higher the amplification, the lower my voice played back for everyone. I think people were mistaking me for Bill Brasky.
Yup, it's a program bug. Soon as I read your post it dawned on me how I screwed up. I'll try and have it fixed in the next release.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 09:54 PM   #10
Calibos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 26
Default

"Give me yo' hand, Boss... I wanna shake it." Epiphanies 4tw!!1
Calibos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.