Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2005, 01:37 AM   #1
Vydda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Windowed Mode?

Been using Vent with WoW this evening, and it works great! My only question is -- I have to actually be in the Vent application to speak to everyone -- I have my settings on a push-to-talk, and can still hear when I'm in WoW, but I cannot talk.

Any suggestions?
Vydda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:40 AM   #2
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Are you sure they can not here you? I made a small server and went into WoW and other full screen applications and the other peeps were able to hear my voice. What was your PTT key?
halprin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:52 AM   #3
Vydda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

My PTT key is my + on my number pad -- and pretty sure they couldn't, I did a bunch of test speech to see
Vydda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:57 AM   #4
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

See item #4

http://www.ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9534
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 02:00 AM   #5
Vydda
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I actually do have my Universal Access stuff enabled.. .perhaps this is a 10.4.3 thing? I'm still 10.4.2
Vydda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 11:19 AM   #6
ferg1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I am having a problem with this too, it covers it in the know issues, but turning on the access for assistive devices does not seem to work. I am still fiddling with it.
ferg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 11:22 AM   #7
ferg1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Enable the UA stuff then restart the app...got it working now.

now if I can get my Guilds server to switch to Speex life would be perfect :\
ferg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 11:58 AM   #8
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferg1
Enable the UA stuff then restart the app...got it working now.

now if I can get my Guilds server to switch to Speex life would be perfect :\
I updated the known issues page to instruct closing the app first.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:52 PM   #9
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

This is weird as I do not have that enabled and PTT works.
halprin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 08:55 PM   #10
shidarin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 12
Default

WoW is notorious for wiping out other applications Key Bind settings. WoW even wipes out your Expose settings!

Without enabling the Universal Access, you can also use any of the modifier keys (Command, Shift, Control, Tab, Option) as the PTT hotkey, and it will hold into WoW. Several of those keys are in constant use, but the Option and the Control key are usually free.

I set the Control key to be my PTT key, since I use th Option key for some flexbar events. I then binded the Control key to my middle mouse button using USB Overdrive (as it IS difficult to reach when doing the ASWD style) and viola, no UA issues, easy on mouse activation.

Edit: Apparently you don't need to map anything with USB overdrive at all anymore.

Last edited by shidarin; 11-04-2005 at 10:25 PM.
shidarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.