Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2005, 04:55 PM   #1
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default Now available - 2.3.2.Prototype.6

The first official Ventrilo client for Mac OSX is now available.

Click here to read the announcement.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:09 PM   #2
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Freaking awesome! Woot! Thank you!
halprin is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:11 PM   #3
Sirbob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Smile Best news all day!



Best news I have got all day!! Can't wait to get home and try it!
Sirbob is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 06:57 PM   #4
Psyphon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruzap
thisis a major step in the process this is very good but i would like to have mor compatibliity with the codecs it only supports speex and none of my guilds servers use that so i can not listen nor talk to them if you could get that beta up fats that would be great!!!!!!!.
Indeed, it is a bittersweet day for me as well. While ecstatic that we finally have a mac client, I downloaded it only to find that my guild's server uses a different codec then speex.

Hopefully, the client will have its codex compatibility enhanced shortly, I'd love to me able to talk with my guild (other only being able to listen through the processor killing VPC Vent!)

But my problems aside, thank you very much Flagship. Thank you.
Psyphon is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:21 PM   #5
StraightZ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah I see the that above user is having the same problem as my friend.

I am John from NationVoice, and we found out that the server needs to be set on Speex inorder for the MAC client to speak. He can hear the rest of us fine, but he can't speek.

So what I did, I set up a temp. server, with the Speex 32 codec, and he sounds awesome. He also needed to set his Slience time to 0.5 and his Sensetivity to 2 - inorder of us to be able to hear him.

So if you're using MAC, you will need to be able to do that, inorder to speak. I am going to provide a screenshot, of the error he got when he joined the server, or tried to talk; not sure.

http://homepage.mac.com/auero/vent.png

Hope this helps anyone.
StraightZ is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:51 PM   #6
Captain K
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

This release is great news, thanks for the hard work. We've been waiting quite anxiously for this.

Unfortunately, the server we rent uses the GSM 6.10 codec, so we'll have to wait for that codec to be supported by the Macintosh client. Any kind of an ETA on GSM 6.10 codec support, Flagship?

In any case, waiting a short while longer isn't any huge inconvenience, now that there's a very bright light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks again.
Captain K is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:54 PM   #7
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StraightZ
He also needed to set his Slience time to 0.5 and his Sensetivity to 2 - inorder of us to be able to hear him.
Or you can use a Push-To-Talk Hotkey and just press and hold that hotkey down when speaking and let go when you are done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StraightZ
I am going to provide a screenshot, of the error he got when he joined the server, or tried to talk; not sure.

http://homepage.mac.com/auero/vent.png

Hope this helps anyone.
You get that error when you JOIN a server that is not set to the Speex codec.
halprin is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 09:47 PM   #8
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain K
This release is great news, thanks for the hard work. We've been waiting quite anxiously for this.

Unfortunately, the server we rent uses the GSM 6.10 codec, so we'll have to wait for that codec to be supported by the Macintosh client. Any kind of an ETA on GSM 6.10 codec support, Flagship?

In any case, waiting a short while longer isn't any huge inconvenience, now that there's a very bright light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks again.
see if you can change the server codec
try using
Speex 16KHz, 16bit, 9 Qlty

that is what we are using on the test server and is a nice balance of quality and bandwidth.

simliar bandwidth byte transfer as GSM 22Khz
mjgraf is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 10:04 PM   #9
StraightZ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halprin
Or you can use a Push-To-Talk Hotkey and just press and hold that hotkey down when speaking and let go when you are done.
I believe he said that the Push-To-Talk didn't work, he said that he couldn't bind a key, not sure though. He isn't around right now, so I can't ask him.
StraightZ is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 10:10 PM   #10
halprin
Member
 
halprin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston/Longview, Texas
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StraightZ
I believe he said that the Push-To-Talk didn't work, he said that he couldn't bind a key, not sure though. He isn't around right now, so I can't ask him.
Binds is something different than the Push-To-Talk hot key. And I the Push-To-Talk hot key thing works.
halprin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.