Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
radicalb21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Lightbulb Is Ventrilo going to be Compatible w/ Mac OS X 10.8

Is ventrilo going to be compatible w/ Mac OS X 10.8 ? New OS comes out today. Any ideas?
radicalb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:56 AM   #2
Flagship
Administrator
 
Flagship's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some insignifcant planet.
Posts: 8,046
Default

Should be. We have been testing with the pre-releases with no problems.
__________________
Flagship Industries, Inc.
www.ventrilo.com
Flagship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
radicalb21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default

thnx
radicalb21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:56 PM   #4
ZeusXylon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: http://www.buywholesaledvd.com/
Posts: 2
Default

We have been testing with the pre-releases with no problems.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 08-26-2012 at 11:29 PM.
ZeusXylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #5
Solamar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Exclamation Retina Display MacBooks with 10.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeusXylon View Post
We have been testing with the pre-releases with no problems.
Vent seems to create a Ghost image of itself on my Retina display running 10.8

It's very odd.. I end up having to click on it twice to bring it back up.. I also wish there was a way to support the Microsoft based Codex on the Mac.. is there a way to do this?

Also, will Vent come to the Mac App store as an App?
Solamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:22 PM   #6
split
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I am no stranger to running ventrilo. Right now I'm running 10.8 on a new iMac... and No, for me it doesn't work properly when ventrilo is not the front application. Flying Warbirds and using Vent I can't seem to find any key(s) that will allow me to change channels, or talk User to User...but talking to all channels works as well as the default channel. I've even assigned the keys that do work to those that don't and no dice. I've tried everything I think, unless there is a file that I can't find that needs thrown away for a clean install. It does work just fine if it is the front application though. I really need to get this fixed, if possible. My squadmates can't even seem to help, and some of them are pretty savy with Vent. Any Ideas?
split is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:01 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

@ split

have you tried option #8 here - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39590
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:18 AM   #8
split
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Prog, The only thing I haven't tried from #8 is the
".....or
Exit Vent
Goto - System Preferences -> Universal Access -> Enable access for assistive devices (turn it on)
Then restart Ventrilo"...
In system 10.8 I don't see the Universal Access option in Sys prefs. And can't seem to find where to enable access for assistive devices. Can you steer me there?
split is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:06 PM   #9
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

To address a couple of things above.

In OS 10.8, Universal Access system preference was changed to Accessibility. Go there and click the checkbox at the bottom of the pane that says Enable Access for Assistive devices.

Second thing - as far as I can tell, Vent is working fine with 10.8. I have tried it running with a number of games and have had zero issues (other than the ever standing Robotic Sound issue hrrrrmpf)

Finally, the codex that Vent uses for Mac communication is called Speex - it's an open source royalty free codec that is superior to the GSM codec in many ways. GSM is not owned by Microsoft - it's owned by an independent organization who you must pay licensing fees to in order to use it. GSM is awesome for cell-phone communication due to it's compression but because we have so much more bandwidth over the internet it's not the best solution.

Last edited by Jaycyn; 10-11-2012 at 08:04 AM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:07 PM   #10
split
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Jaycyn, Thanks for the info, I can't believe I didn't see that at the bottom of the pane. Sheesh, oh well live and learn. Hope it works, will report back at some point.
split is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.