Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2012, 05:30 AM   #1
TastyHamSandwich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Exclamation Ports Forwarded, CanYouSeeMe Sees Me, Can't Connect from the Internet

I am hosting a free 8 man server from my desktop PC. My network has two layers of NAT. I have a bridged T1 modem, with one device connected to it: a Sprint AirVana Cell Extender. This in turn connects to two routers, a Linksys E1200 and a Linksys WRT54G. Both of these devices have static routed addresses, 192.168.17.2 & .3, respectively. My PC that is hosting the server connects via ethernet to the WRT54G (xx.xx.xx.3).

The AirVana is in route mode, and has my static IP configured on its WAN side. Internally, port 3784 TCP/UDP is forwarded to my Linksys WRT54G router (192.168.17.3, static assigned on router WAN).

Inside my router, port 3784 TCP/UDP is again forwarded to my PC (192.168.1.107, static assigned on PC IPv4 settings).

CanYouSeeMe.org reports it can see me on static IP through port 3784. Unfortunately, I cannot connect to my Vent server using my static WAN IP and port 3784), though I have no issue connecting to it locally within my network using 192.168.1.107).

This perplexes me, as I've had no issues in the past hosting a Ventrilo server from my home PC, but it's been a year or so since then and I've had to reinstall Ventrilo client & server since then. I'm not quite sure what to do next to troubleshoot the issue, and any suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance!
TastyHamSandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,879
Default

can this status page see your server - http://ventrilo.com/status.php

also, trying to connect internally using your wan ipaddress typically doesn't work. any local lan pc's should use the 192.168.1.107 address ( 127.0.01 or localhost if running client and server on same pc)

also need to portforward 6100 UDP
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:16 AM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,879
Default

@ tybontage

does the vent client connect to your local vent server?

For PC’s connecting on the same LAN as the server:
If you’re connecting the client from a different PC than the server then configure the client to use one of the internal ipaddresses of the server for the servername. The LAN ipaddress is typically set to 192.168.x.x

If you’re running the client on the same PC as the server then configure the client to use 127.0.0.1 or “localhost” as the Hostname (ipaddress).

Most home routers will not loopback a connection if you specify your external ipaddress or DNS hostname in the Ventrilo Client > Server setup. In most cases this configuration has caused unexpected problems.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:14 PM   #4
A Cow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hey,

I'm having a similar problem. I can connect from my workstation, but not from the external IP unless its in DMZ mode. ( I don't like DMZ enabled because of the holes windows already has )
Ventrilo 3784 192.168.1.200 3784 TCP
ventrilo 6100 192.168.1.200 6100 UDP

thoughes are both forwareded to the correct place. Is there anything i'm missing?

any ideas?

SERVER: Win2k8r2
Router: Asus RT-N56U
Internal IP: 192.168.1.200
External IP: PM Me
A Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:00 PM   #5
witiwap
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

To "A Cow"

You're trying to connect to the server via your external IP from outside the router, not from inside your NAT, correct? If you're on another computer but still inside your LAN you need to use 192.168.1.200. Hope this helps!

EDIT: Also, if this doesn't help I'm willing to help you troubleshoot. I can give you my vent server info or email or whatever through PM, but I'm not willing to post that publicly.

Last edited by witiwap; 02-25-2012 at 09:11 PM.
witiwap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:32 AM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,879
Default

@ a cow

you also need to add port 3784 UDP to the portforward addresses

can this status page see your server - http://ventrilo.com/status.php
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.