Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 12:06 AM   #1
blackwolfrider
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default Unable to activate DirectSound for selected device. DirectSoundCaptureCreate failed.

Here's what's happened. I've updated my audio driver to the latest. I have Windows 7, and have for awhile. Nothing has changed other than updating my audio driver. The reason, because I got turtle beach xp500's and I wanted to use them, so I updated my audio drivers for multiple reasons.

I am getting the:
Unable to activate DirectSound for selected device.
DirectSoundCaptureCreate failed. HR=DSERR_NODRIVER. No sound driver is available for use

regardless of what I have selected in the output device
use direct sound selected
-default directsound device
-realtek digital output(realtek high defintion audio)
-realtek digital output(optical) (realtek high definition audio)
-speakers (realtek high definition audio)

I've selected each of these and still get the error message. I also have gone under the (Speech) and (Binds) and selected the same dropdowns. Still get that error...ARGGH.

I've researched on the forums but nothing had worked.

Any ideas?
blackwolfrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:27 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

just an fyi - the 'direct-sound-capture' refers to the input device (microphone)

set the input device to enable 'use directsound' then set the name in the dropdown box to realtek mic.

set the hardware mixer=none

let's test the mic to make sure it works with windows:

Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording

in vent setup, clik the 'test' button, hold the ptt and talk, release the ptt and listen to playback
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:34 PM   #3
blackwolfrider
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Prog...
That didnt work at all. I had those settings you put already.
The Input device also had [ ] Use Direct Sound, selected
and the input device only hasefault DirectSound device as the only option, nothing else drops down.

The Hardware inputer mixer(optional) the mixer is set to none already.

Thanks.
blackwolfrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:03 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

did the windows recording test work?

something seems amiss as the input device dropdown box should have listed the realtek mic option.

in the windows sound/recording tab, what devices are listed and which are enabled (shows a red down-arrow or green-checkmark on the icon)
also, rt-clik in that windows and selecet 'show disabled/disconnected' devices

can you also post the following plz:

DXDIAG

Start > Run
Dxdiag

Click the 'Save All' button
File is saved to the desktop as "DxDiag.txt"
Copy/paste the information (up to, and including, the [PS/2 Devices] section) to the forum. The information will have to be separated into multiple posts due to the maximum character limitation.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.