Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 11:07 PM   #1
mardill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default Ventrilo not connecting to any server

I've downloaded the official 3.0.7 version and it does not connect me to any server at all. I checked it is allowed in firewall.

I'm using win7 x64...

It's the first time i'm installing vent on this pc

What can be wrong here?
mardill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:52 AM   #2
mjgraf
Super Moderator
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,494
Default

what is ventrilo displaying in the channel area?
does an error pop up?

we need to know these messages.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
mardill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

channel area - Server is available, please connect.. connecting ( i hope that was what you were asking for )
and afetr about 10 secs theres an error - unable to connect.
mardill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 05:21 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,879
Default

Does your system have the Bigfoot Killer Network Card installed?

Try powering off the modem-router-pc (in that order) for at least 60 seconds each (this will clear all cached data)

Try re-installing or updating the router firmware. Check the manufacturers website for your make/model

In Windows Network Properties, disable all un-used network card ports (some cards include both wired and wireless ports)
Windows Control-Panel / network and sharing / manage network connection / right-click on the device(s) that aren't used and select 'disable'

In Windows Network Properties, try disabling QoS:
Windows Control-Panel / network and sharing / view status (link on right side) / properties / uncheck "QoS Packet Scheduler"

Temporarily disable all firewall/virus applications to test

Perform a traceroute to the server when it happens and post the results:

start > run

cmd {hit enter}
tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)


(example: tracert frost.pure-voice.net )

try the telnet test:

start > run

cmd {hit enter}
telnet serverhostname port#


(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If Telnet is able to connect then the screen will go blank. If not, then you will see an error message about not being able to connect.

Vista / Windows 7 and Telnet

Control-Panel / Programs and Features / Turn Windows features on or off / select “Telnet Client” / click OK

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.