Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2009, 10:44 PM   #1
Dubstar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Super lag

I am having the most frustrating Vent experience ever. I have, what seems to be, major lag issues.

When I first log on I have a couple of seconds before it lags, then total silence. Once the lag catches up I hear ALL things said in vent within a span of 5-10 minutes all at once.

I play WOW and do not have any issues with anything. My connections to the internet is real fast. Vent is the only thing not working properly.

I deleted the application completely and reinstalled.
I have tried to set the Process Priority Class but since I use a MAC I dont have that option.

Dubstar
MacBook Pro
4gig ram
2.4 GHz intel Core Duo
OSX 10.5.6
VENTRILO 3.0.4
Dubstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 04:51 AM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

could be internet connection issues to the server.
what ping is displayed in ventrilo when this occurs?

who is your ISP?
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 07:10 PM   #3
Vernon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Same problem

I use an IMac and have Shaw Cable as my ISP. I have more or less exactly the lag issue described. When I ping back to the vent server, this is a standard look to it.

Ping has started ...

PING silver.typefrag.com (69.12.72.194): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=0 ttl=119 time=99.501 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=113.873 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=2 ttl=119 time=98.531 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=97.787 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=4 ttl=119 time=97.823 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=5 ttl=119 time=99.102 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=6 ttl=119 time=98.202 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=7 ttl=119 time=99.981 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=8 ttl=119 time=100.343 ms
64 bytes from 69.12.72.194: icmp_seq=9 ttl=119 time=99.471 ms

--- silver.typefrag.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 97.787/100.461/113.873/4.548 ms

My Ventrilo client program will be showing upwards of 23000 for a ping at the same time. I have no clue, please any suggestions would help.

Thanks.
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:39 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

unfortunately I see that Shaw is your ISP. There have been many reports from other clients of Shaw (search windows forum for 'Shaw') that have similar problems.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:22 AM   #5
tomba2k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

i have the same problem too.
it never happened to when i was on 32bit win xp.
also, it didnt happened to me when i was on 64 bit win xp, but i had it too short to be shure about the problem.
now i have 64bit win7 ultimate and i ahve this problem, no matter is ventrilo client 32 or 64 bit.
i have measured, once lag appears, i had to wait from 06:03AM till 06:13AM until i heard what people was taking.
i am from croatia, same problem with two ISP's: T-Com and Amis Telecom!
tomba2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.