Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 10:32 PM   #1
Xcow_04
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default mic not working.

I just got a new cpu, but had the same problem with my last cpu as I did with this one.. My headset are Astro A40's, and on vent my mic does not work at all, when I throw it through the test system, it just sounds like someone turned it on and there is a fan in the background, but doesnt register anything. When I use skype though, my mic works just fine, and everyone can hear me perfectly and easily, and it has no problems. So I'm guessing I have some random problems with my vent, any help please?
Xcow_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:03 PM   #2
deathshero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I have the same issue with my Astro A40s. I am not allowed to talk on vent because of static or it sounds like a fan in my background. If I talk to people on Google voice I am fine. Here is what I have done to try and fix it.

Non of the below worked:
Reinstalled Vent, Updated PCI Express Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty drivers and made sure silence was enabled, removed sound card and tried onboard sound (780i evga sli), contacted Astro support and no issues could be found with my headset or MixAmp.

If you visit Astros site, and watch the set up video for PC best, that is my setup.

I am not sure what else to do.

Last edited by deathshero; 08-09-2010 at 02:10 PM.
deathshero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:38 PM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,968
Default

you might try this first - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=44454

SoundBlaster Microphone Problems

The Creative Console default sets your Microphone to "Line-In" instead of Microphone. To fix this go to the console, and simply switch from Line-In to Microphone.

in vent setup, try setting the input device to enable 'use directsound' then set the name to that of the mic device
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,968
Default

@ xcow

what operating system and audio device name are you using?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:25 PM   #5
deathshero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
you might try this first - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=44454

SoundBlaster Microphone Problems

The Creative Console default sets your Microphone to "Line-In" instead of Microphone. To fix this go to the console, and simply switch from Line-In to Microphone.

in vent setup, try setting the input device to enable 'use directsound' then set the name to that of the mic device
Looked at that link tried it but still same issue. My mic bar doesn't move unless I talk or blow into it.

I also did that for my SoundBlaster card as it is the only way to enable the silencer option (which doesn't help).
deathshero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:16 PM   #6
deathshero
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Also I am not sure if this matters, when I test it on my end it sounds like a humming noise or buzz.
deathshero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 03:56 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,968
Default

what were you using to test it with?

do you also here the buzzing in this test?

Testing the Microphone with Windows
(the microphone must work here before it will work with any voice-comm program)

Windows XP
Control-Panel / Sounds and Audio / Voice Tab / Test Hardware Button

Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.