Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
vdrej
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default Equalizer - Outbound not taking effect

Hi,

There's a few issues with my sound (minor ones, mainly that the microphone attached to the more expensive G35 causes my voice to sound quite tinny/higher pitched compared to the microphone on my $15 GE headset)

I read about the Equalizer - Outbound setting, and tried it out. When discovering the server admin needs to enable the option for the user, we tried that too. Still no affect. Anyone who has the privileges can set the equalizer sliders, then press "use settings", and no changes are made. Sounds no different, and as soon as we go back in to the equalizer, every slider is flat once more.

Anyone know what could be causing this Equalizer - Outbound setting to simply not be active, still? Is there another hidden option somewhere? Is it codec related? The codec we're using is GSM, though I believe it made no difference in the Speex chanel as well.

I'm not server admin so I can't check things out super thoroughly, but the individual who is is quite savvy, especially when it comes to audio, so unless the option is rather obscure and hidden, I don't know what it could be.

Thanks in advance!
vdrej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 10:32 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,805
Default

as a test, try leaving the EQ window open and see if the sound quality changes
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 02:06 PM   #3
vdrej
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Correction, that does work.

Wow.

So.. yeah. Why on earth should we have to leave that open! Oh well, thanks!

Last edited by vdrej; 07-13-2010 at 02:10 PM.
vdrej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:10 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,805
Default

i didn't know that either. I will have to find out why.

thx for testing
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.