Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2010, 07:16 PM   #1
eff1745
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default My mac troubles

I have attempted multiple times to download the Ventrilo client, it downloads a zip file and when i extract the zip file, i always receive what the computer reads as a document. Upon being clicked it asks what application i would like to use to read the document, i don't know what the problem is. My mac is updated with version 10.4.11. Any help or ideas would be appreciated.
eff1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 02:00 PM   #2
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Download and install Stuffit Expander

http://www.stuffit.com/mac-expander.html

Then try again.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 02:36 AM   #3
eff1745
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default Thanks for the help but unfortunately it didn't work

I downloaded and installed suffix expander, unfortunately the problem remains exactly the same. (yes, i tried extracting the zip file with suffix expander)
eff1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 01:25 PM   #4
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Since the installer works for a lot of folks, it leads me to think there is something up with your operating system, or potentially some installed software causing a problem. Programs like anti-virus checkers can cause the issue you describe.

When you double click the Ventrilo downloaded file document that's on your desktop (ventrilo-3.0.7-Darwin-universal.pkg.zip), what happens? Does it open an application? Does it create another document on your desktop?

Can you right click on the zip file and select 'Open With' then select 'Other' and then select Stuffit Expander?

What then happens?

Another thought. Try booting into 'Safe Mode' and then trying. You can boot into Safe Mode by holding down the Shift Key while starting up. Note that the boot times could be several minutes so be patient.

Last edited by Jaycyn; 06-28-2010 at 01:33 PM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 10:31 PM   #5
eff1745
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default Thanks for the continued help

upon opening the zip file with suffit expander a new icon appears next to the zip file, the icon looks like a blank piece of paper with a bent page, the icon is named "Ventriloclient.mpkg" there is nothing I can do with the icon however, I can't install it or anything.
eff1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 10:31 PM   #6
eff1745
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default Tried Safe mode

Safe mode had no affect
eff1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 10:34 PM   #7
eff1745
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default I think i figured out the problem

I have been looking all over for solutions because ventrilo isn't the only thing this happens to, i believe my mac lack a utilities folder which is supposed to contain the default installer, i have no idea how or if that's possible, any advise on that would be appreciated.
eff1745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 01:32 PM   #8
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Ah!

Select the disk image icon (.dmg) of the vent installer that's on your desktop.
Go to File->Get Info
Turn the disclosure triangle under "Open With"

it should say DiskImageMounter

If it doesn't, that's the issue.

Select Open With... and navigate to

/System/Library/CoreServices/DiskImageMounter.app

Then choose "Change All".

You can then double click the disk image and it should mount up so you can run the installer.


If that doesn't work, then reinstalling a combo update (10.4.11) may correct the issue.

Download and install one of these

For Intel: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL172
or
For PPC: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL170
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 12:39 AM   #9
liamedwards1995
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

it didnt work, i tried the DiskImageFinder but it just said that disk images failed to mount. i reinstalled the combo update but the update was a blank piece of paper too, why wont it download damn it?!!!!!!!
liamedwards1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 12:40 AM   #10
liamedwards1995
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

DiskImageMounter*
liamedwards1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.