Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Server

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 11:46 PM   #1
Saint21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default Cannot connect to server.

Well title says it, I've done everything and still I or my friends cannot connect to my server. Now I can connect to my local IP but besides that nothing. All it says is "contacting server", Could someone please help.


[SOLVED]

Last edited by Saint21; 03-21-2010 at 12:41 AM.
Saint21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 01:53 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

have you gone thru these steps:

http://ventrilo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17761
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 09:07 PM   #3
Saint21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Yep tried everything
Saint21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 05:11 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

what make/model router do you have?

can the status page see your server? http://ventrilo.com/status.php
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 02:48 PM   #5
bmathers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hey, by no means do i want to steal your thread, but i have the exact same problem, i have followed your guide Prog-Rocker to the teeth but any time i try to connect i get contacting server i have a DIR-655 D-LINK and i have tested my server on that link and it shows up. Any help would be much appreciated.
bmathers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:46 PM   #6
Saint21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Oh its cool man as long as I figure out the problem. I have a Linksys model No. WRT54GS v.6
I have tried a lot of things not really sure what I need to do,
I checked the status and for some reason it is not responding.

Last edited by Saint21; 03-12-2010 at 11:02 PM.
Saint21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 10:52 AM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

@bmathers

try this:

Configure the Virtual Server option, not Port-Forward. Use the normal ports
(3784 for TCP/UDP and 6100 UDP) and the same for the private ports.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 10:53 AM   #8
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,384
Default

@saint21

What OS are you running?

try putting the server pc into the DMZ section of the router then try the status page again.

also make sure the router has the latest firmware.

try powering off the router for 60 seconds then re-check the portforward settings.

if possible, try connecting the server to the router with an ethernet cable

temp disable all firewall/virus apps

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 03-13-2010 at 10:55 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 02:03 PM   #9
WrathX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I was having this problem today and finally figured it out. This worked for me anyways but our problem sounded the same.

I was trying to use my IP which I got from ipchicken.com. It wouldn't work and I was getting frustrated. I looked around my router settings, opened the ports I was suppose to and still nothing. Finally I noticed the WAN IP address in my routers settings and tried it. Voila! It works perfect now.

So try using your routers WAN IP and see if that works.

Hope this helps.
WrathX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 06:56 PM   #10
WrathX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Well I guess nevermind. It was working like that all day and now I went to get on and had to change my IP to the one showing up on ipchicken.com again. At least I know what the problem is now if I can't connect. I'm guessing I'd have to check with my isp to get a static IP? Anyone know? Sorry not trying to hijack this thread but some of it is related.
WrathX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.