Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 10:33 AM   #1
Logout
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Error: HR=DSERR_NODRIVER

Hey everyone, when i connect to the vent i need i get this error:

Unable to activate DirectSound for selected device.
DirectSoundCaptureCreate failed. HR=DSERR_NODRIVER. No sound driver is available for use

i have turned on the push to talk and play key clicks with an easy key to press. But i still cant use my voicekey. What do i need to do to make it work?
Logout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 10:56 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

first:

Testing the Microphone with Windows
(the microphone must work here before it will work with any voice-comm program)

Windows XP
Control-Panel / Sounds and Audio / Voice Tab / Test Hardware Button

Windows Vista/Windows 7
Programs / Accessories / Sound Recorder / create a recording then save it
Windows Media Player (WMP) / playback recording


then check for this:

http://ventrilo.com/forums/showpost....62&postcount=6
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 11:35 AM   #3
Logout
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

VoiceCommMixerStart: Invalid voice mux selection. (-1)

Thats the error i have now, and i dont know how to get rid of it
Logout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 11:59 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

in vent setup, set the hardware mixer = none
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:06 PM   #5
WTarrasque
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Hi! I have found this problem occurs when you do not have a Mic plugged into any microphone port before starting Ventrilo. Specifically, this is for computers with plug detection.

If there is no mic plugged in, there is no default device selected by Windows 7.

Solution: Plug your microphone in before starting Ventrilo client.

I realize this issue is over 2 years old, but it shows up high on searches for this error. Hope this helps people!
WTarrasque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 06:25 PM   #6
InTime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WTarrasque View Post
Hi! I have found this problem occurs when you do not have a Mic plugged into any microphone port before starting Ventrilo. Specifically, this is for computers with plug detection.

If there is no mic plugged in, there is no default device selected by Windows 7.

Solution: Plug your microphone in before https://skinnyexpress.com/phen375-review starting phen375 and Ventrilo client.

I realize this issue is over 2 years old, but it shows up high on searches for this error. Hope this helps people!
Strange as I'm getting this error now on Windows 10. I tried plugging in mic before turning on Ventrilo but it didn't work.

Last edited by InTime; 06-10-2016 at 02:21 PM.
InTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 06:30 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

@ intime

does your pc have a second mic input jack?

have you tried testing the mic in windows yet?

Windows 8 / 10
Windows Control-Panel / Hardware and Sound / Sound - Manage audio devices / Recording tab
Select the current Midrophone device / Set as Default / Properties / check the levels in 'Levels' tab / check the effects in the 'Enhancements' tab
Goto 'Listen' tab / select the proper 'Playback' device / click the 'Listen to this device' box and click 'Apply'
Speak into the mic and listen for playback / check the Levels and Enhancements again to adjust the sound
When setup is complete, un-check the 'Listen to this device' box and click Apply
-------------

can you post the following plz:

DXDIAG

Start > Run
Dxdiag

Click the 'Save All' button
File is saved to the desktop as "DxDiag.txt"
Copy/paste the information (up to, and including, the [PS/2 Devices] section) to the forum. The information might
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2016, 10:56 AM   #8
LedaBunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Thats the error i have now, and i dont know how to get rid of it

Last edited by LedaBunny; 02-01-2017 at 05:40 PM.
LedaBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 10:59 AM   #9
mario1233bott
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
@ intime

does your pc have a second mic input jack?

have you tried testing the mic in windows yet?

Windows 8 / 10
Windows Control-Panel / Hardware and Sound / Sound - Manage audio devices / Recording tab
Select the current Microphone device / Set as Default / Properties / check the levels in 'Levels' tab / check the effects in the 'Enhancements' tab
Goto 'Listen' tab / select the proper 'Playback' device / click the 'Listen to this device' box and click 'Apply'
Speak into the mic and listen to phen375 customer video reviews playback / check the Levels and Enhancements again to adjust the sound
When setup is complete, un-check the 'Listen to this device' box and click Apply
-------------

can you post the following plz:

DXDIAG

Start > Run
Dxdiag

Click the 'Save All' button
File is saved to the desktop as "DxDiag.txt"
Copy/paste the information (up to, and including, the [PS/2 Devices] section) to the forum. The information might
I faced the same problem and your suggestion helped solved it. Thanks.

Last edited by mario1233bott; 11-04-2017 at 06:59 AM.
mario1233bott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:43 AM   #10
ian231
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog-Rocker View Post
@ intime

does your pc have a second mic input jack?

have you tried testing the mic in windows yet?

Windows 8 / 10
Windows Control-Panel / Hardware and Sound / Sound - Manage audio devices / Recording tab
Select the current Midrophone device / Set as Default / Properties / check the levels in 'Levels' tab / check the effects in the 'Enhancements' tab
Goto 'Listen' tab / select the proper 'Playback' device / click the 'Listen to this device' box and click 'Apply'
Speak into the mic and listen for playback / check the Levels and Enhancements again to adjust the sound
When setup is complete, un-check the 'Listen to this device' box and click Apply
-------------

can you post the following plz:

DXDIAG

Start > Run
Dxdiag

Click the 'Save All' button
File is saved to the desktop as "DxDiag.txt"
Copy/paste the information (up to, and including, the [PS/2 Devices] section) to the forum. The information might

Hi! I have found this problem occurs when you do not have a Mic plugged into any microphone port before starting Ventrilo. Specifically, this is for computers with plug detection.

If there is no mic plugged in, there is no default device selected by Windows 7.

Solution: Plug your microphone in before starting Ventrilo client.

I realize this issue is over 2 years old, but it shows up high on searches for this error. Hope this helps people!
WTarrasque is offline
ian231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.