Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2009, 03:06 AM   #1
Artim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Voice sounds very deep

I have a macbook pro, that I have installed windows on. I use the windows partition mostly to play different RTS. But when I installed vent to talk to some of my friends when we play, my voice sound very deep and had an almost demonic quality to it.

Wondering if it was just my mic, I loaded the mac OS and started up vent. On the mac side I sound perfectly clear and had a normal voice speed. I have use direct sound enabled and have the priority set to high in the misc section, both of which have no effect. I even downloaded an older version of vent to see if there was a problem in the current version, but still had no luck.

Any help on the subject would be much appreciated.
Artim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 08:14 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

does it sound the same in the vent test?

goto vent setup, clik the test button, speak normally then listen to the playback

what are you using for the microphone and how is it connected to the mac?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:37 PM   #3
Artim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

In the test mode, it sound exactly the same. My head set is a Plantronics GameCom 777 Surround Sound Gaming Headset, and I have it plug into the mic input and the headset slots on my mac book, without the usb adapter because it broke a few months ago.
Artim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:10 AM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

the problem is probably due to the input on the macbook is a 'line input', not a mic input and the required signal levels are different.

headsets that use the 3.5mm jack need to use a usb adapter.

and no, i have no idea why apple made it that way.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:46 AM   #5
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
and no, i have no idea why apple made it that way.
Likely because professional audio gear uses Line Input, and Macs are the dominant platform in the music industry.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:59 PM   #6
Artim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

If that was the case then why did vent work when I ran the mac client on my macbook with my headset set up the same way?

I only get this problem when I am on the Windows partition of my hard drive.
Artim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:03 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

what sound device does windows show it is using?
is the driver up to date?
  • If you have a brand-name PC, like Dell or HP, then check the manufacturers website for driver updates.
  • If you built the PC and use the on-board sound device then check the motherboard manufacturers website for drivers for your model motherboard.
  • If you use a plug-in soundcard, like SoundBlaster, then check that manufacturers website for drivers.
what version of windows are you running?

what codec/format is the server? rt-clik in window/view/server browser
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:56 PM   #8
chL41
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I have the EXACT same problem. Anyone found a solution?
chL41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 02:05 PM   #9
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

We need more information to assist you.

Mac or Windows?
Which Mac?
What version of Vent
What OS?
How is the headset connected? Plugged in via USB, or the Line level input?
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:07 PM   #10
Taelsin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I'm having the same problem with my bootcamped windows. I DID have the same problem with Skype, but I recently bought Mac OS 10.6 and installed the newer sound drivers. This fixed the problem in Skype. My hope was that it would also fix Vent, but it hasn't.

My problem is on Windows XP with the most current version of the Windows XP ventrilo client (I'm not sure what the version number is). My mic is the built in mic on the 2009(ish) MacBook Pro running 10.6.3.
Taelsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.