Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #1
olsen73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default MSG: Contacting Server

Specs are as follows:

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac8,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 3.06 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

I have installed the latest version of Ventrilo, and it has been working flawlessly for weeks. Just recently, when I start Vent, instead of saying "Server available, push connect" is reads "MSG: Contacting Server" and that message stays even after I press connect. I have re-installed Vent, restarted numerous times, and contacted my IT guy to make sure my port is not blocked or anything. I have never firewalled anything on my computer, and have spent 30 minutes working with a Vent rep online with no results. Has anyone ever had this problem before? What might I do to solve it? Thank you for your time and assistance.
olsen73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:52 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

make sure the server is running (this will also verify the ipaddress/port# are correct) > http://ventrilo.com/status.php
(enter the serverhostname and port# found in the vent client server setup)

perform a traceroute to the server and post the results:

open a terminal session:


traceroute serverhostname(found in server setup)

telnet serverhostname port#


(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If telnet can't connect then vent won't either as telnet is a function of the tcp/ip stack which is a part of the operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#.

Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 05:56 PM   #3
olsen73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Prog- thanks for your help. I've seen this post before, and it appears very helpful. However, I don't know how to perform any of these actions. could you rewrite your post as a quick walkthrough and show me what I need to be doing step-by-step?
olsen73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 05:50 PM   #4
olsen73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Prog- Results of my tests. How do I Fix my problem?

Telnet:

Last login: Sat Feb 28 09:38:16 on console
creighton-olsens-imac:~ creightonolsen$ telnet probone.guildvent.net 8226
Trying 67.228.122.189...
telnet: connect to address 67.228.122.189: Operation timed out
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host
creighton-olsens-imac:~ creightonolsen$

Traceroute:

Traceroute has started ...

traceroute to probone.guildvent.net (67.228.122.189), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 70.158.153.129 (70.158.153.129) 0.981 ms 0.569 ms 0.556 ms
2 * * *
3 * * *
4 * * *
5 * * *
... and so on until 63 * * *
olsen73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.