Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 07:07 PM   #1
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default MSG: Contacting Server - Troubleshooting 101

Ventrilo uses Industry Standard TCP/IP communication protocols (TCP & UDP) in its client/server connection. When there are connectivity issues it is most likely due to 3rd party applications that have the capability of blocking ports, ie: Firewalls, Anti-virus, routers, etc. (other factors may include LAN card drivers/configuration or your ISP). Some firewall applications will notify you with a popup window that a certain application is trying to make internet connectivity, but there are those that do not notify you. In the latter case it is up to you to configure the firewall to “allow” a specific application access to the internet, with the options for both incoming and outgoing.

There are well over 1 Million+ users, with just as many different system/network configurations, that are able to connect without a problem so it's just a matter of figuring out your individual system configuration settings.

Listed below are items to check for possible interferrence.

General Information: http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=23257

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 04-07-2011 at 10:45 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:07 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Basic Network Test

Perform these basic tests to check for valid network connectivity to the server:

Make sure the server is running (this will also verify the ipaddress/port# are correct) > http://ventrilo.com/status.php
(enter the serverhostname and port# found in the vent client server setup)

Try powering off the modem-router-pc (in that order) for at least 60 seconds each (this will clear all cached data)

Perform a traceroute to the server and post the results:

Start > Run
cmd
tracert serverhostname(found in server setup)

Try telneting to the server:

Start > Run
cmd
telnet serverhostname port#

(where serverhostname={the server ipaddress or hostname of the server you’re trying to connect to (found in vent client server setup)} and port#={port associated with that server}
(example: “telnet 75.125.43.51 3784” or “telnet www.myserver.com 3784” without the quotes)

If telnet is able to connect then the screen will clear. Hitting the ESC key should end the connection.

If telnet is not able to connect then you will see an error message stating such. If telnet fails then Vent won't connect either as telnet uses the same TCP protocol, which is part of the network operating system. If it can't make a tcp connection then something is preventing the connection on that specific port#.

Note: Users running the Vista Operating System must first enable telnet.exe
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/81b6d4b7-905e-4d70-8379-7934913fedb01033.mspx#EO

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 02-24-2009 at 07:11 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:08 PM   #3
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Windows Firewall

Start > Control Panel > Windows Firewall > Exceptions Tab
Click the “Add Program…” button
Find Ventrilo in the list or click the “Browse” button and navigate to the folder with Ventrilo.exe

Windows Defender

Start > Control Panel > Windows Defender
Click on “Tools”
Click the “Quarantined items” link
Verify that Ventrilo is not in the list

Windows DEP

Start > Help and Support
Type “DEP” into the search box
Select the “To turn Data Execution Prevention on or off for a program” link and follow the directions

Vista – User Account Control (UAC)

Start > Control Panel > User Accounts
Select “Turn User Account Control on or off”

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 02-27-2009 at 04:32 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:08 PM   #4
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Anti-Virus Programs

There are many Anti-virus programs that inspect the application’s version information to see if it has changed. If there is a difference then confirmation is required if the program will be allowed to run. Sometimes the user does not see this request and hence the program is permanently banned from accessing the network. This technique is used by A/V programs to prevent system components, or other applications, from being spoofed by a Trojan/virus.

It is beyond the scope of this text to explain how to adjust every Anti-virus/Firewall application but will attempt to describe in general terms what to look for. Please consult your product’s documentation for a more detailed explanation.

Here are some places to look in order to find your product’s control-panel program:

Start > All Programs > {A/V name}

Start > Control Panel > {A/V name}

Windows System Tray (The system tray is located in the Windows Taskbar, usually at the bottom right corner next to the clock). Typically right-click on the icon to access a menu or double-left-click to start the program.

Once you start the program, find the advanced settings for either Applications or Internet. Look for any/all entries of Ventrilo and remove them. While here you can re-enter Ventrilo into the list. There should be an option to “Add” a program to the list by clicking a “Browse” button. The default path for Ventrilo is C:\PROGRAM FILES\VENTRILO (your harddrive letter may be different).
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:08 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Network Properties

Start > Control Panel > Network

Listed below are some options that can be changed in order to troubleshoot connectivity

Disable all unused LAN ports. (some newer PC’s include both a wireless as well as a wired network connection)

Disable QoS Packet Scheduler – Quality Of Service

VPN Software – temporarily disable to troubleshoot

Click the “Configure” button next to network card name

There may be a Checksum Offload property, if so choose the Disabled option. Not all network card drivers will list the name as "Checksum Offload" exactly, but it should be named something similar. Most cards that include this option are built-in to motherboards using the nForce chipset. This may also be listed as Hardware Checksumming.

Try changing the Speed/Duplex to Force 100 Full Duplex. If you have an older router you may need to use base 10 full duplex. This may also be listed as Media Type/Connection Type.

If there is a Power Management tab in your network card properties, click it and unselect the "allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" if selected.

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 07-22-2009 at 12:52 PM.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:09 PM   #6
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Solutions from Ventrilo Users
(these are listed here due to unique configurations)

1. If you are running a motherboard with nVidia chipset and have "NVIDIA Forceware Network Access Manager" installed from the Forceware package try uninstalling it as it is an add-on you don't need that only conflicts with Vista.

2. Router w/Speedboost - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=29288

3. Thinking Outside the Box - http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=35315

4. The Ventrilo2.INI file becomes corrupt. (this is rare but has been seen to cause connection problems)

Exit Ventrilo
Goto START > RUN and enter: %appdata%\ventrilo
Right-click on Ventrilo2.ini and select “Rename”
Give the file a different name
or
Delete the Ventrilo folder
Restart vent
Re-enter your username and server information

Mobile Wi-Fi/Broadband Adapters

Check the device configuration for "Proxy" settings and try disabling it.

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39591

(consult the device documentation for location of settings)

Verizon FIOS Firewall

http://forum.ventrilo.com/showthread.php?t=39948

Last edited by Prog-Rocker; 04-07-2011 at 10:45 AM.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 07:09 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 22,967
Default

Booting Into Safe-Mode

Restart Windows
Keep hitting the F8 function key before the the Windows logo appears. You should see a list of options to choose from.
Select “Safe Mode with Networking”. This will boot windows into a very basic configuration but also allow network drivers to load.
Start Ventrilo to see if it connects all the way. If it works properly then there is something that is loading during the normal boot that is interferring with the connections.
Prog-Rocker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.