Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 10:37 AM   #21
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

i have so far just been using skype and all the problems resolved lol.... maybe in the future vent may fix this or find out what is causing this problem.
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 11:24 AM   #22
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

what version OS are you running?

what external devices do you have connected?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:18 PM   #23
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

i am running 10.6.3 snow leopard
i have a usb keyboard and mouse and a 500gb lacie external hd
but i have unplugged the hd and the vent crashes persisted.
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:44 PM   #24
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

is the kbd one of the logitech "g" series?

do you also open a global chat window?

hardwired or wireless lan connection?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 03:49 PM   #25
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

on a new apple airport express so its wireless the keyboard is also the standard mac keyboard. i do not open a global chat window when using vent. my little bro has a 20" imac and his vent works fine on the same the same os
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:33 AM   #26
Chicane
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same issue, after Vent loads it slowly increases RAM usage. After about an hour its hitting around 1.5GB, eventually the program crashes.

- MacBook Pro 2.8 Ghz 2009 4GB RAM, 10.6.3, vent 3.0.7
- Wireless connection to an apple airport station (I've seen it occur when connected at different locations)
- Using builtin mic with PTT
- I created a new user and logged into my guild server with the same issue.
- I have reinstalled the OS since the problem first started occurring.
- Occurs on any server I use so far.
- Occurs with nothing else running in the background.
- Was occurring with 3.0.4, I've since updated to 3.0.7 with the same problem
- Seems to only occur when Outgoing Voice Communication is enabled. It doesn't seem to matter if I am actually transmitting or not.

Last edited by Chicane; 09-01-2010 at 09:23 AM.
Chicane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:41 PM   #27
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Can you post what the Real Memory, Virtual Memory and Thead count is when you restart the Mac then start up Vent without connecting to a server?

Do you have littlesnitch, limewire or any virus protection software installed?
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 03:00 PM   #28
Chicane
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Without connecting to a server:

Real memory: 7.9 MB
Virtual memory: 941.7 MB
Threads: 7

I do not have snitch, limewire or any virus protection running.
Chicane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 02:08 PM   #29
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

As a test, I installed Ventrilo 3.0.7 on 5 different Macs this morning at 9am.
1 - 24", 1 - 21.5", 1 - 27", and a MacBook.
All running 10.6.4
(all current models except the 24" which is a 2.8Ghz 2g Mac).

Checking each one:

Real Mem 7.2
Virtual 24.7


Is is now 2:00 and rechecked each Mac. The numbers are about the same.

I am going to connect them all to a vent server and see if anything changes.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:03 PM   #30
Chicane
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Just as a reference, when I wasn't connected the it didn't seem to consume any more RAM than when it started. It's only when its
a) connected to a server
b) outgoing voice communication enabled


I talked to a friend in my guild who runs vent on an earlier model of a MacBook Pro and he doesn't experience any issues/problems at all. I don't know if apple has different drivers built in for different models based on the chipset when it comes to handling the audio (just a thought).

I'm curious as to why it's using so much more virtual memory when I run it compared to yours Jaycyn.
Chicane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.