Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 06:28 PM   #11
elderon4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I am having this same problem using the mac 3.0.4 client. Every time I transmit the client grows in memory. Last night I was up over 1.6 gig. I am running 10.6.2.
I would like to know if anyone else has seen this problem since Henri has.
I have a friend that is running the same thing as I am and his works fine.
I can't see anything in the config that is different.

Please help.
elderon4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:08 PM   #12
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

I personally use Vent 5-6 times a week.. and can be on as much as 8 hours at a stretch on saturday. I have not experienced any kinda of out of control bloating.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 12:55 PM   #13
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

im having the same issues and its really bothersome. when the memory is full sometimes it freezes up and i have to restart the computer. i have an imac 24" so i have plenty of memory to be running wow and vent without any issues it usually takes 2 to 3 hours to crash but its almost consistent every time. i can add the error log it makes each time if necessary.
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 01:22 PM   #14
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Can you describe what you mean by 'memory is full'? Also, are there any other applications running when it crashes? Do you have any virus protection software?
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 02:15 PM   #15
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

vent uses all my comps memory and the other program that is running is wow. i have worked for mac for about 3 years and to this day have not seen a virus on a mac
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 11:44 AM   #16
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

@old

are you using PTT or voice activation?
is the mic device usb, analog, or built-in mic?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:22 PM   #17
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

i am using PTT and the mic is the standard imac built in mic. i have used vent many times on the same machine this problem has occurred recently about 4 months i have reinstalled vent 2 times and everything is updated
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 02:14 PM   #18
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

I was asking about the Virus Protection software as we have seen those applications cause some odd memory issues.

By any chance do you have an application called Limewire installed?


I have another suggestion; it will take a bit of time but will help to narrow down the issue.

Create another user account on the Mac and install vent on that account. Use it for few minutes and see if you get a different result.

Last edited by Jaycyn; 04-14-2010 at 02:16 PM.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2010, 02:59 PM   #19
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

i dont have limewire ill try the user account solution
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 03:19 PM   #20
OldScratch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

ok changing accounts did not solve the problem
OldScratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.