Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 10:04 PM   #1
artomos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default Connection issue

I sometimes go to the library and when I connect to the internet and i need to just be listening in ventrillo I cannot connect. I believe this has something to do with them having their server's IP set up in a way that Ventrillo doesnt want you in as you cannot be banned without and IP. or there could be an entirely different issue.
I can connect at home, I am not banned, and this is the same problem with all servers I have used. I am wondering if there is some way to fix this? any help is appreciated.
artomos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:04 AM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

sounds like the library has some network security in place.

before hitting the connect button, what does the vent window display?

MSG: ???
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:28 PM   #3
Jaycyn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Default

Most likely this is not an issue that needs to be fixed:

Many public wi-fi networks have certain 'ports' blocked.

A port (not the wine kind) is the why in which many applications connect to the internet. Web browsers use port 80, mail uses a few ports 25, 110 etc.

Ventrilo also uses ports. Unfortunately it sounds like the public wi-fi networks you are using have the ports blocked that Ventrilo needs to operate. You home network on the other hand has those ports open by default.

The only 'fix' is to have then open those ports for communication - an they will generally not do that.
Jaycyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:49 PM   #4
artomos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

it just says contacting to server
Yeah that was somthing else i also thought of and i could try it out is there any way though to figure out what ports ventrillo does use so I might be able to attemt to get them opened

i just figured that not haing an IP might also cause issues also as then the ban system would not work with NOIP or it would maybe just block everyone that uses it?

Last edited by artomos; 01-29-2013 at 06:53 PM.
artomos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:07 PM   #5
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

vent uses the ipaddres and port# that's configured in the Server setup section at the top of the window. clik on the right-arrow button

can you temp disable NOIP just to test connectivity?
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.