Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2007, 03:30 AM   #1
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default ventrilo talking problem (help plz)

ya hey everybody, i have a problem with my ventrilo.. see i put all the info for my friends server and i connect and join there channel and everything is fine except for the one problem i have which is that i cant communicate with my friends because i cant say anything and i cant hear anything they say either. i go to setup and check the use push to talk key and i put the key as the comma button. on my other computer that i used to have which was an HP everything was fine, but now that i use a mac and i have the system version 10.4.9 tiger by the way, ya now on the mac vent doesnt work. i put the inbound and outbound to the normal numbers that i used to have for my headphones and mic and it doesnt work. here is the thing when i check the push to talk key thing in setup i get a message saying "in order to use ptt hotkey you might need to enable access to assitive devices in unversal access in system prefrences " when i go into the system prefrences i cant find the thing im trying to do even though i really dont know what im trying to do lol. it also says something about speex codec or something but i dont know what that means. i dont know basically i cant say anything even when i am pressing the button and i cant hear what my friends are saying either but there mic symbol next to there names the red one turns green everytime they talk so i kno they say something but i cant hear and whne i try my voice red symbol doesnt turn green and i dont hear that sound either so plz help.
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:25 AM   #2
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

did you get a warning that the server is using the GSM codec?
please confirm the server codec and format.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Quote:
it also says something about speex codec or something but i dont know what that means.
This big warning message which comes up when you connect to the server tells you that the server is configured for the GSM codec, not the Speex codec, and plainly says that "Inbound and outbound voice will not function," which is why you can't hear or talk.

Have your friend change his server to the Speex codec and restart the server.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:12 PM   #4
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

well hold on ill explain what it all says just incase. ok when i first start ventrilo it says " this is a prototype version of ventrilo client osx" which i think everybody gets. anyways it goes on to say how the ventrilo is still needed for work since its on mac. And then yes it does give me that message which i never payed attention to lol. so what do i have to do just tell me friend to change it to speex? and he will know what to do from there.....?
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:10 PM   #5
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

well actually now that i go into a channel that is speex compatible i can hear people talk but now when i try to talk i cant say anything nobody hears me lol but i can hear them talk. my symbol turns green when i try to talk but i cant talk cuz nobody can hear me.
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:08 PM   #6
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

I think you're confused. Ventrilo servers cannot set the codec on a per-channel basis. It's one codec for the whole server.

But, if you can hear people, then the server is running Speex.

As for people not being able to hear you, what kind of microphone do you have? Where is it plugged in on the computer?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 01:10 AM   #7
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

well i dont know what type of microphonei have lol its one that is attached to headphones and has 2 wires 1 purple wire and 1 orange which are hooked up to the main system, the back site where all the wires are hooked up to, there are symbols of a microphone thati put 1 of the wire into and headphone that i put other wire into. so the wiring is correct but i cant talk lol but i can hear others. i was thinking that maybe my microphone might be broken but i dont know how i mean like it never fell and its barely been used in 4 months when my i traded my HP comp, with this mac computer.
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:11 PM   #8
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Your microphone is the problem. Macintoshes use line-level mics. A standard PC headset does not have enough power for the Mac to recognize the input signal.

You either need to purchase a USB mic/headset or get a converter to convert your analog headset to USB. This is the converter you should purchase should you choose to go that route:

http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/imic/
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:10 PM   #9
vaheko1990
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default

naw man i dont think that website for that mic thing is what i need. the wires are round first of all for the head set and it fits into the back of my computer at the right spot , another words i dont need that cube like wire. it has to be something else.
vaheko1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:47 PM   #10
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

Pardon me for saying so, but I know what I'm talking about. A standard PC-analog mic will NOT work with a Mac.

You either need to purchase a USB mic/headset or use a USB converter for the one you have.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.