Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Macintosh Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2007, 04:02 PM   #1
sedoclat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default Stupid question

I just installed the mac vent client, and am as a rule clueless on computer programs.

Heres the problem: I can't speak. I set a push-to-talk hotkey, but when I press it nothing happens. I checked to see if "enable access for assistive devices" is on, (it is), and I can hear other people just fine.

What am I doing wrong?
sedoclat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 08:21 PM   #2
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

What key are you using?
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 10:44 PM   #3
sedoclat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I dont know, and I dont know. How do I set my mixer, and how do I find out what key Im using?
sedoclat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 02:01 AM   #4
wadesworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,934
Default

There are no mixer/mux/line settings in the Mac version.

The is a sound input setting and you should have that set to the appropriate device as well as having the system sound preference pane set to the appropriate device in the Input pane.

The hotkey is set in the Ventrilo setup dialog. Make sure that "Enable outgoing voice communication is on, as well as "Use push-to-talk hotkey". Then make sure the correct key is mapped in the Hotkey field. When things are correctly done, your little speaker icon should turn green when you're connected to a Speex-configured server and press your hotkey.
wadesworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 11:40 AM   #5
sedoclat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Input has only one option: default. In system preferences, the microphone dropdown box is grayed out.

I'm using a mini, which has no place to plug the microphone into on the computer itself. I'm using a seperate device that allows me to switch between speakers and headphones without changing plugs, and it also has a slot for the microphone, which is where mine is plugged into. Could this be the problem?
sedoclat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 08:06 PM   #6
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

depends on what this device is. the mac mini requires a usb mic or a device that converts an analog mic to the USB connection.
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 09:38 PM   #7
sedoclat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Default

The device plugs directly into the sound jack. I'll get a USB microphone, then.
sedoclat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.