Ventrilo Tech Support  

Go Back   Ventrilo Tech Support > Main Category > Windows Client

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2007, 07:19 PM   #1
mws555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Ventrilo Don't WORK!!! HELP! unable to connect to server

ok i can connect to like 5 out of 35 vent sersvers i have. last night and this morning i was on a vent channel and all of a sudden ic annot connect to it i nkow its up because all my friends are in it but i cant go in i dont know what to do please help ive tried everything ive reinstalled ive repaired ive reset my router HELP!
mws555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 07:39 PM   #2
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

sounds like there might be a network path issue to some of the servers.
try using telnet to see if you can get a connection to those bad servers:

start > run > cmd
telnet servername port#

also try temporarily disabling all firewall/virus/spyware checkers as they could block it too.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 07:45 PM   #3
mws555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

yea the telnet didnt work it says couldnt open connection, but i KNOW!! the server is up, i have mcaffee but i exited it out, can you tell me how to turn the stuff off so i can get in we have matches tonight and i cant get in
mws555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 08:06 PM   #4
mws555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Also, PLEASE somone reply! if you have aim add me Seavers81 please add if you have msn post it and i will log in but i tend to use aim only, please msg me or reply with how to do this i have no idea at all!
mws555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 08:32 PM   #5
mjgraf
Senior Member
 
mjgraf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Some say in my own little world
Posts: 15,502
Default

if the telnet can not connect, then something is blocking the connection.
as prog-rocker suggested, disable all firewalls, etc. and see if you can connect.
could you provide a tracert to the server?
open a cmd prompt,
tracert hostname
mjgraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 08:56 PM   #6
mws555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default

seriously im not very good at this PLz add me on aim Seavers81 , if you do no thave it plz dl it i will love you so much and i need to get on quick@!@!@!!
mws555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 12:59 PM   #7
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

make sure windows firewall is turned off too.

start > control panel > windows firewall
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 05:44 PM   #8
chocokitten
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I am having this same issue. Please let me know if you reach a resolution. I've tried everything to connect and I am unable to connect to any of the three servers I usually go to via vent or telnet.
chocokitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 06:10 PM   #9
Prog-Rocker
just tryin to help
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Local Space/Time Continuum
Posts: 23,340
Default

if telnet won't connect then the problem is beyond vent.
try power resetting your modem/router then reboot your pc.
Prog-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.